## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Words cannot express the heartache felt at the loss 2 of U.S. Marine Corps Lance Corporal Mark R. Goyet of Sinton, who 3 died while bravely serving his country on June 28, 2011, at the age 4 of 22; and

5 WHEREAS, Assigned to the 3rd Battalion, 4th Marine Regiment, 6 1st Marine Division, I Marine Expeditionary Force, Twentynine 7 Palms, California, Lance Corporal Goyet lost his life in Helmand 8 Province, Afghanistan; and

9 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to this 10 nation's servicemen and servicewomen, who make immeasurable 11 sacrifices for their country and who risk their very lives in its 12 behalf; and

WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed forces, Mark R. Goyet inspired others with his fortitude, tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas 19 hereby pay tribute to the life of Lance Corporal Mark R. Goyet and 20 extend sincere sympathy to all those who mourn his passing; and, be 21 it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of

1

1 U.S. Marine Corps Lance Corporal Mark R. Goyet.

Menendez

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 141 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 16, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 141 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the Senate on May 21, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor