H.C.R. No. 187

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot express the heartache felt at the loss
- 2 of U.S. Navy Special Warfare Operator Chief Petty Officer Stephen
- 3 Matthew Mills of Fort Worth, who died while bravely serving his
- 4 country on August 6, 2011, at the age of 35; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Assigned to Naval Special Warfare, Special Warfare
- 6 Operator Chief Petty Officer Mills lost his life in Wardak
- 7 Province, Afghanistan; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to this
- 9 nation's servicemen and servicewomen, who make immeasurable
- 10 sacrifices for their country and who risk their very lives in its
- 11 behalf; and
- WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed
- 13 forces, Stephen Matthew Mills inspired others with his fortitude,
- 14 tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives
- 15 of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic
- 16 Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 18 hereby pay tribute to the life of Special Warfare Operator Chief
- 19 Petty Officer Stephen Matthew Mills and extend sincere sympathy to
- 20 all those who mourn his passing; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 23 Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of
- 24 U.S. Navy Special Warfare Operator Chief Petty Officer Stephen

H.C.R. No. 187

1 Matthew Mills.

Menendez

## H.C.R. No. 187

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr.	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

П	$\sim$	D	M	187
Н	(	R	NΩ	18/

	H.C.R. No. 187		
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House		
I certify that H.C.R. No. 18 rising vote of the House on May 16, 20	37 was unanimously adopted by a		
	Chief Clerk of the House		
I certify that H.C.R. No. 18 rising vote of the Senate on May 21, 2	37 was unanimously adopted by a		
	Secretary of the Senate		
APPROVED:			
Governor			