## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Legislative Medal of Honor was established 2 to recognize gallant and intrepid service by a member of the state 3 or federal military forces, and U.S. Army Second Lieutenant Darryn 4 Deen Andrews proved himself a deserving recipient of this 5 prestigious award; and

6 WHEREAS, Born in Ogden, Utah, on July 3, 1975, Darryn Andrews 7 grew up in Cameron and graduated from C. H. Yoe High School, where he played on the football, baseball, and basketball teams, served 8 9 on the student council, and participated in the UIL one-act play competition; he went on to earn a bachelor's degree in business from 10 11 Texas Tech University and a master's degree in education 12 administration from Texas State University; and

WHEREAS, Ever since he was a child, Lieutenant Andrews had hoped to serve his nation with the same dedication with which his grandfather had served during World War II, and after the events of 9/11, he tried three times to enlist; the first two attempts were ended by medical problems, but on his third attempt, he was accepted, and in 2004, he proudly joined the U.S. Army, intending to make the military his career; and

20 WHEREAS, Assigned to the 1st Battalion, 501st Parachute 21 Infantry Regiment, 4th Brigade Combat Team (Airborne), 25th 22 Infantry Division, out of Fort Richardson, Alaska, Lieutenant 23 Andrews was serving his second tour of duty in Afghanistan in 24 September 2009 when his unit was attacked with an improvised

1

1 explosive device and a rocket-propelled grenade; with no thought 2 for his own safety, Lieutenant Andrews tackled three of his 3 comrades to protect them from being hit; he died of the wounds he 4 incurred in that act of selfless courage; and

5 WHEREAS, Through his patriotism and determination to serve 6 his country, Lieutenant Andrews had already distinguished himself 7 as an exemplary soldier, but in the end it was his willingness to 8 sacrifice himself for his brothers-in-arms that revealed his true 9 heroism and showed the strength of his warrior's heart; now, 10 therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas 12 hereby direct the governor of the State of Texas to posthumously 13 award the Texas Legislative Medal of Honor to Second Lieutenant 14 Darryn Deen Andrews in recognition of his valiant service during 15 Operation Enduring Freedom.

> Farney Miller of Fort Bend

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 198 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2013, by the following vote: Yeas 147, Nays 0, 1 present, not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 198 was adopted by the Senate on May 27, 2013, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor