RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Robert Griffin III was named the winner of the 2011
- 2 Heisman Trophy after leading the Baylor University football team to
- 3 one of its best seasons in a quarter-century; and
- WHEREAS, The son of Robert and Jacqueline Griffin, Robert Lee
- 5 Griffin III was raised in Copperas Cove, where he was a standout
- 6 high school athlete in football and in track; opting to attend
- 7 Baylor, he enrolled in the spring of 2008 and immediately proved his
- 8 athletic abilities by earning All-America honors in outdoor track
- 9 during his first semester at the university; in the fall, he was the
- 10 starting quarterback for 11 of 12 games as an 18-year-old freshman;
- 11 and
- WHEREAS, After suffering a knee injury during the 2009
- 13 season, Mr. Griffin returned in 2010, rested and ready; that year,
- 14 he set or tied 11 single-season school records, threw for more than
- 15 3,500 yards and 22 touchdowns, and helped Baylor to attain its first
- 16 bowl-game appearance in more than a decade and a half; in
- 17 recognition of his performance, he was named to the All-Big 12 team
- 18 and won the league's Offensive Player of the Year and Comeback
- 19 Player of the Year awards; and
- WHEREAS, Suiting up as a fourth-year junior in 2011, he began
- 21 by leading Baylor to an opening-game victory against defending Rose
- 22 Bowl champion Texas Christian University and then secured key
- 23 conference wins against Iowa State, Missouri, and Kansas; on
- 24 November 19, in a game that made Baylor history, he threw a

- H.R. No. 10
- 1 last-second, 34-yard touchdown pass that enabled the Bears to
- 2 defeat Oklahoma for the first time ever, and the team ended the
- 3 regular season with triumphs against Texas Tech and Texas; in the
- 4 Alamo Bowl, this respected athlete closed out his award-winning
- 5 year on a high note as he and his teammates knocked off Washington
- 6 67-56 in the highest-scoring bowl game in history; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Griffin is renowned for his speed, accuracy, and
- 8 ability to throw the ball deep; during 2011, he completed 72 percent
- 9 of his passes for nearly 4,300 yards and 37 touchdowns and rushed
- 10 for 699 yards and 10 TDs; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In addition to his success on the gridiron, Mr.
- 12 Griffin excelled in his academic studies at the university, earning
- 13 a degree in political science in 2010 and going on to pursue a
- 14 master's degree in communications; and
- WHEREAS, By winning one of the most important trophies in
- 16 American college sports and sparking the resurgence of the Baylor
- 17 football program, Robert Griffin furthered the Lone Star State's
- 18 exceptional tradition of athletic achievement, and his
- 19 accomplishments will be remembered for years to come; now,
- 20 therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate Robert Griffin III on winning the
- 23 2011 Heisman Trophy and extend to him sincere best wishes for the
- 24 future; and, be it further

H.R. No. 10

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Mr. Griffin as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Patrick Kacal J. Davis of Harris Leach Phillips Anderson Sanford

H.R. No. 10

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia		Parker
	Guillen	
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
	Keffer	
Capriglione		Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland		
	Marquez	Thompson of Harris Toth
Elkins	Martinez	
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 10
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 10 was a	dopted by the House on March 12,
2013, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House