RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, William Powers, Jr., president of The University of 2 Texas at Austin, has been honored in two diverse areas of endeavor, winning an award for legal scholarship as well as being elected vice 3 chair of an association of preeminent research universities; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Widely recognized as a leading American legal scholar, Bill Powers is a 2012 corecipient of the prestigious John 6 7 G. Fleming Memorial Prize for Torts Scholarship; he was awarded the prize for his definitive interpretations of juridical concepts and 8 9 for coauthoring a treatise on the general principles of tort law; his extensive writing on personal injury and emotional damages is 10 11 considered one of the major achievements of modern jurisprudence; 12 and WHEREAS, Respected for his leadership on issues related to 13 higher education, President Powers was recently elected vice chair 14 of the Association of American Universities; programs developed by 15 16 the AAU encourage improved funding for research to enable leading universities to continue functioning as centers of innovation and 17 scientific advancement; with his successful record as an advocate 18 for undergraduate and graduate education, he enriches the AAU, 19 20 bringing his expertise and keen intellect to bear on the critical task of maintaining financial resources for programs of advanced 21 22 learning; and 23 WHEREAS, President Powers graduated magna cum laude from

Harvard Law School, where he was managing editor of the Harvard Law

24

- 1 Review; he joined the faculty at The University of Texas School of
- 2 Law in 1977 and taught with distinction before being appointed as
- 3 dean in 2000; he has been named to UT's Academy of Distinguished
- 4 Teachers, is a University Distinguished Teaching Professor, and
- 5 holds the Hines H. Baker and Thelma Kelley Baker Chair in Law; on
- 6 February 1, 2006, he took office as president of The University of
- 7 Texas at Austin; and
- 8 WHEREAS, A Life Fellow of the American Bar Foundation and the
- 9 author of dozens of books and articles on legal philosophy and the
- 10 nuances of tort law, he has shared his considerable skills while
- 11 serving on the boards of the National Center for Educational
- 12 Accountability, the Council of Public University Presidents and
- 13 Chancellors, the Lyndon Baines Johnson Foundation, and the Big 12
- 14 Conference; and
- WHEREAS, His dedication to a clear understanding of legal
- 16 principles and the means by which they are translated into law has
- 17 made Bill Powers a well-known and admired figure in the world of
- 18 jurisprudence; moreover, his commitment to the betterment of higher
- 19 education through student diversity, increased funding, and
- 20 curriculum innovation establishes him as a pacesetter in the realm
- 21 of public university leaders; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate William Powers, Jr., of The
- 24 University of Texas at Austin on his receipt of the John G. Fleming
- 25 Memorial Prize for Torts Scholarship and on his election as vice
- 26 chair of the Association of American Universities and extend to him
- 27 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

H.R. No. 22

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for President Powers as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Branch Howard

H.R. No. 22

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House
adopted by the House on February

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 22

I certify that H.R. No. 22 was

18, 2013, by a non-record vote.