H.R. No. 63

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The face of Texas is rapidly changing, and 2 demographic trends indicate that Hispanics will likely make up a 3 majority of the population within the next decade; as a result, the 4 state is in great need of more certified bilingual teachers, and a 5 program at the University of North Texas is wisely addressing that 6 need; and

7 WHEREAS, In collaboration with the Texas Higher Education 8 Coordinating Board, UNT is offering the Roberto R. Alonzo 9 Bilingual/ESL Education Scholars Program to provide scholarships 10 as incentives for students to pursue certification programs in 11 bilingual or ESL education; covering tuition and fees, the 12 scholarships are available to junior and senior undergraduate and 13 postbaccalaureate students at UNT; and

WHEREAS, Students enrolled in this program must maintain at least a 2.75 grade point average, meet financial aid requirements, and use the scholarship funds to pay for courses and fees related to early childhood to sixth-grade bilingual or ESL generalist certification; an average of 30 UNT students benefit from the scholarship program each semester; and

20 WHEREAS, Equipping future teachers with fluency in the 21 Spanish language that will facilitate the delivery of content in 22 the classroom as well as encouraging respect and appreciation of 23 linguistic and cultural differences are important priorities of the 24 UNT program, and student participants may take pride in the fact

1

H.R. No. 63
1 that they are providing a service that is vital to the future of our
2 state by attending to the needs of the growing population of
3 Spanish-speaking schoolchildren; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
Legislature hereby honor participants in the University of North
Texas Roberto R. Alonzo Bilingual/ESL Education Scholars Program
for 2013 and commend them for their commitment and dedication to the
children of Texas.

Alonzo

H.R. No. 63

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 63 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House