H.R. No. 69

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Scott D. Sheffield of Midland has been named the 2 recipient of the 2012 Permian Basin Petroleum Association Top Hand 3 Award; and

WHEREAS, The chair and chief executive officer of Pioneer Natural Resources, Mr. Sheffield has led the energy firm since its founding in 1997; over the years, Pioneer has developed into a prominent exploration and production company and one of the most active operators in the country; employing some 3,000 Texans, Pioneer has been named among the best companies in both the Dallas-Fort Worth area and the state at large for which to work; and

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Sheffield attended high school in Tehran, Iran, 12 during his father's assignment there as an executive with ARCO; following graduation, he earned his bachelor's degree in petroleum 13 14 engineering from The University of Texas; he began his career as a reservoir engineer with Amoco Production Company in 1975, and four 15 16 years later he joined the fledgling Parker & Parsley Petroleum Company in Midland as its sole staff engineer; he subsequently 17 18 became CEO and chair of Parker & Parsley, and in 1997 he oversaw its merger with MESA, Inc., a union that resulted in the creation of 19 20 Pioneer; and

21 WHEREAS, In addition to providing outstanding leadership for 22 his company, Mr. Sheffield works with various industry- and 23 education-related organizations, including boards of the National 24 Petroleum Council, America's Natural Gas Alliance, and the Maguire

1

Energy Institute of the Southern Methodist University Cox School of
Business; and

3 WHEREAS, Over the course of his stellar career, Scott 4 Sheffield has made tremendous contributions to the oil and gas 5 industry and rendered significant service to the wider community; 6 now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 8 Legislature hereby congratulate Scott D. Sheffield on his receipt 9 of the 2012 Permian Basin Petroleum Association Top Hand Award and 10 commend him for the dynamic role he has played in developing this 11 country's energy resources; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for Mr. Sheffield as an expression of high regard by the 14 Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 69

2

H.R. No. 69

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 69

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 69 was adopted by the House on January 9, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House