H.R. No. 99

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, David Campbell of Athens has been chosen as a 2013

inductee into the National Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame; and

3 WHEREAS, Mr. Campbell began working with the Texas Parks and

4 Wildlife Department in 1965 as a fish hatchery assistant in

5 Lewisville; after becoming manager of the Tyler Fish Hatchery in

6 1973, he traveled to Florida to collect largemouth bass to breed and

7 stock in public reservoirs, a move that elevated the state's trophy

8 fishing reputation and earned him the nickname "Godfather of Big

9 Bass"; and

2

10 WHEREAS, TPWD gained national attention when the largest bass

11 on record, weighing 17.67 pounds, was caught at Lake Fork in

12 Northeast Texas and soon after developed an infection; for an

13 entire month, Mr. Campbell nursed the fish, named Ethel, back to

14 health, while thousands followed her progress in the media; he

15 subsequently helped facilitate her safe transport to Springfield,

16 Missouri, to the first, and then only, Bass Pro Shop, where her

17 presence attracted countless visitors; to thank TPWD for the

18 increase in business, Johnny Morris, founder of Bass Pro Shops,

19 donated funds for the construction of the Richard M. Hart and Johnny

20 Morris Conservation Center at the Texas Freshwater Fisheries

21 Center; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his career, Mr. Campbell raised and

23 stocked millions of fish, including channel catfish, northern pike,

24 and crappie, among many others; he also oversaw the Toyota

- 1 ShareLunker program, which encourages anglers to donate or loan
- 2 their 13-pound or larger bass to TPWD for spawning purposes to
- 3 increase the size and growth rate of largemouth bass in Texas public
- 4 waters; Mr. Campbell initiated the program in 1986 and continued
- 5 overseeing it until his retirement from the Texas Freshwater
- 6 Fisheries Center in Athens in 2012; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Through his research and dedication to the
- 8 advancement of trophy bass fishing, Mr. Campbell helped TPWD gather
- 9 the largest collection of data on big bass in the world; in
- 10 addition, he pioneered new procedures for caring for big fish and
- 11 helped popularize catch-and-release conservation; he was elected
- 12 into the Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame in 2011; and
- 13 WHEREAS, David Campbell's dedication to the care and
- 14 management of fish in Texas waters has earned him the respect and
- 15 admiration of anglers and outdoor writers across the state and
- 16 beyond, and it is indeed fitting to recognize his contributions to
- 17 the freshwater sport-fishing industry; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby congratulate David Campbell on his induction
- 20 into the National Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame and extend to him
- 21 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Mr. Campbell as an expression of high regard by the
- 24 Texas House of Representatives.

Gooden

H.R. No. 99

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia		Parker
	Guillen	_
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
_	Johnson	Riddle
Callegari		
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales		
GUIIZALES	Nevarez	Zerwas

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 99 was a	adopted by the House on February
13, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 99

13, 2013, by a non-record vote.