H.R. No. 102

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, School board members play an integral role in the 2 education of our children, and the observance of School Board 3 Recognition Month in January 2013 provides a welcome opportunity to 4 honor the trustees of the La Joya Independent School District; and

5 WHEREAS, Situated in the western part of Hidalgo County, La 6 Joya ISD includes 37 schools and serves a student population of 7 nearly 30,000; the seven school board members who oversee this 8 district work closely with Dr. Alda T. Benavides, superintendent, 9 as well as with parents, teachers, and community leaders to ensure 10 an optimal learning environment for all students; and

11 WHEREAS, The board is led by president Juan "J. J." Pena, Jr., 12 vice president Esperanza "Espie" Ochoa, and secretary Joel Garcia; 13 Mr. Pena is a real estate broker and developer; Ms. Ochoa is a 14 reading specialist and former teacher who served as a statewide 15 coordinator for The University of Texas at Austin Institute for 16 Public School Initiatives, and Mr. Garcia is a local business owner 17 and vice president of the Palmview Chamber of Commerce; and

18 WHEREAS, Other members of the board include Johnn Valente 19 Alaniz, the city manager of Palmview, who was first elected in 2006, 20 and newly elected trustees Jesus "Chuy" Avendano, an insurance 21 agent and a former Penitas City Council member, Juan Jose "J. J." 22 Garza, an administrator with the La Joya Housing Authority, and 23 Oscar "Coach" Salinas, who has served as mayor pro tem and city 24 commissioner in Sullivan City; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Each of these notable Texans demonstrates a truly 2 exemplary commitment to area students and brings a set of skills and 3 experience that contributes immeasurably to the successful 4 operation of the district; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 6 Legislature hereby honor the members of the La Joya Independent 7 School District Board of Trustees on the occasion of School Board 8 Recognition Month and extend to them sincere appreciation for their 9 outstanding service to the community; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the La Joya Independent School District Board of 12 Trustees as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of 13 Representatives.

Munoz, Jr.

H.R. No. 102

2

H.R. No. 102

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 102

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 102 was adopted by the House on January 14, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House