RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On February 20 and 21, 2013, members of the 2 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Nacogdoches, 3 and Stephen F. Austin State University and its Student Government 4 and Alumni Associations are visiting Austin to celebrate 5 Nacogdoches-SFA Days at the State Capitol; and

6 WHEREAS, Nacogdoches is the site of a Caddo Native American 7 settlement and a Spanish mission established in 1716; founded by 8 Antonio Gil Y'Barbo, it received designation from Spain as a pueblo 9 in 1779, and today it proudly calls itself the "first town in 10 Texas"; and

11 WHEREAS, The city became an important gateway for trade with 12 the French and later the Americans, and claims among its lengthy 13 list of Texas milestones being home to the first English language 14 newspaper, oil well, and two-story building, as well as the state's 15 inaugural district court session; the nine flags flown over the 16 city include those of three short-lived early republics; and

WHEREAS, Today, the vintage charm of Nacogdoches brings 17 myriad tourists, who explore such attractions as the Old Stone 18 Fort, the Victorian homes along Mound Street, the 19th-century 19 buildings of Millard's Crossing, and the quaint antique shops and 20 21 restaurants along brick downtown streets; many also come to enjoy recreational activities at Lake Nacogdoches, Lake Naconiche, and 22 23 Sam Rayburn Reservoir, all known for their bass fishing; in addition to tourism, the primary industries of the area include 24

1

1 agricultural services, manufacturing, and oil and gas; and

2 WHEREAS, Education has been an important part of the area's 3 economy since Stephen F. Austin State University opened its doors to 158 students on September 18, 1923; its alumni association was 4 5 organized just five years later and has worked diligently through the years to support the school, which now has an enrollment of 6 approximately 13,000 students; SFA boasts an exceptionally scenic 7 8 campus and also operates a beef and poultry farm, a dairy farm, an experimental forest, and a forestry field station; its observatory 9 10 is the second largest not only in Texas but also in the Central Time Zone; and 11

WHEREAS, Beautifully situated in the Texas Forest Country, Nacogdoches is attracting active retired Texans; it was one of the first three communities in Texas recognized as a Go Texan certified retirement community because of its cultural and sporting events, health care, safety, and continuing education opportunities; and

WHEREAS, The combination of numerous amenities and a neighborly atmosphere makes Nacogdoches a splendid place to live, work, and study, and it is a pleasure to welcome those representing the many facets of this vibrant part of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 20 and 21, 2013, as Nacogdoches-SFA Days at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for an enjoyable stay in Austin.

Clardy

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 108 was adopted by the House on February 21, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House