H.R. No. 109

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Citizens of Grimes County are joining together at
- 2 the State Capitol to celebrate Grimes County Day on January 23,
- 3 2013; and
- WHEREAS, A landscape of lush forests and verdant savannah,
- 5 the area that would later become Grimes County was inhabited by the
- 6 Bidai people when Europeans first arrived in the region in the late
- 7 1600s; it is thought that the famous French explorer La Salle met
- 8 his untimely end near present-day Navasota in 1687; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In the 1820s, Anglo settlers began to move into the
- 10 region, drawn by the rich bottomlands along the Navasota and Brazos
- 11 Rivers; one of the first cotton crops in Texas was planted in the
- 12 county, and with Anderson as its county seat, Grimes County was
- 13 established in 1846 and named after Jesse Grimes, a signer of the
- 14 Texas Declaration of Independence; and
- WHEREAS, The arrival of the railroad in 1859 helped promote
- 16 the growth of Navasota as a center of commerce, while two spas
- 17 established in the 1850s, Kellum Springs and Piedmont Springs, drew
- 18 many visitors to the county; and
- WHEREAS, Today, the area's prosperity is based on livestock,
- 20 agribusiness, and light manufacturing; the timber, lignite coal,
- 21 and natural gas industries also contribute to the economy of the
- 22 region; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Officially designated the Blues Capital of Texas by
- 24 the 79th Texas Legislature in 2005, Navasota hosts the annual

H.R. No. 109

- 1 BluesFest to commemorate the famous blues musician and native son
- 2 Mance Lipscomb and to raise money for a scholarship in his name; the
- 3 town is equally renowned for its picturesque downtown and
- 4 Victorian-style houses, and its history is showcased in the Horlock
- 5 History Center, a restored 1892 home; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Anderson boasts the striking Grimes County
- 7 Courthouse, constructed of handmade bricks in 1894 and restored in
- 8 2002; the town is also home to the Fanthorp Inn State Historic Site,
- 9 a restored 19th-century stagecoach stop that hosted such famous
- 10 figures as Sam Houston, Robert E. Lee, and Stonewall Jackson; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy the colorful
- 12 Texas Renaissance Festival in Plantersville every October and
- 13 November; another popular attraction is Gibbons Creek Reservoir,
- 14 which offers ample recreational opportunities for fishing,
- 15 camping, boating, and waterskiing; and
- WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich history as they look forward
- 17 to a bright future, the people of Grimes County are justifiably
- 18 proud of their heritage and achievements, and their county's many
- 19 contributions to the ongoing development of the Lone Star State are
- 20 indeed deserving of special honor; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize January 23, 2013, as Grimes County Day
- 23 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 24 best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Kolkhorst

H.R. No. 109

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Otto Alonzo Alvarado Guerra Paddie Anchia Guillen Parker Gutierrez Anderson Patrick Harless Ashby Perez Harper-Brown Perry Aycock Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna Bohac Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Ratliff Burkett Hughes Burnam Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Button Johnson Riddle Callegari Canales Kacal Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Capriglione Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor Carter Rodriguez of Travis Clardy Rose Coleman Sanford King of Zavala Collier Schaefer Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell Krause Simmons Creighton Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Larson Smith Darby Laubenberg Smithee Springer Davis of Dallas Lavender J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Lozano Taylor Dutton Thompson of Brazoria Lucio III Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris Elkins Martinez Toth Martinez Fischer Fallon Turner of Collin Farias McClendon Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Menendez Farney Miles Villalba Farrar Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Fort Bend Flynn Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morrison White Workman Geren Munoz, Jr. Giddings Murphy Wıı Zedler Goldman Naishtat Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas

	H.R. No. 109
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 109 was 23, 2013, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on January
	Chief Clerk of the House