RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The National Institute on Drug Abuse, part of the 2 National Institutes of Health, has designated January 28 through 3 February 3, 2013, as National Drug Facts Week in order to educate 4 teens about substance abuse and addiction; and

5 WHEREAS, According to available figures, more than 10 percent of high school seniors admit to the nonmedical use of prescription 6 painkillers, while approximately one-third report having used 7 illicit drugs within the past year and more than 20 percent 8 9 acknowledge having smoked marijuana during the past month; while teens often lack accurate knowledge about drugs and their effects, 10 11 they are frequently exposed to myths about drugs and drug use by way 12 of television, movies, music, the Internet, and their peers; and

13 WHEREAS, National Drug Facts Week was launched in 2010 as an 14 effort to help teens make informed and responsible choices by 15 connecting them with credible health experts; at school assemblies 16 and other community-based events across the country, students will 17 be able to ask scientists questions about the health and behavioral 18 effects of drug use, and they are also invited to organize drug 19 awareness activities in their own neighborhoods; and

20 WHEREAS, Society as a whole benefits when young people are 21 empowered to think critically about their lifestyle choices, and by 22 participating in this important observance, the State of Texas is 23 helping teens to make enlightened decisions today and in the years 24 ahead; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize January 28 through February 3, 2013, 3 as National Drug Facts Week and encourage young Texans to learn more 4 about this serious issue.

King of Taylor

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 110 was adopted by the House on January 29, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House