H.R. No. 129

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Capitol Area Council of the Boy Scouts of
America marked its 100th anniversary in 2012; and

3 WHEREAS, Since it was chartered in 1912, this Central Texas 4 scouting organization has sought to provide an educational program 5 for boys and young men to build character, to train in the 6 responsibilities of participating citizenship, and to develop 7 personal fitness; and

8 WHEREAS, The organization's illustrious history of service 9 includes collecting over 300,000 pounds of food for needy Texas 10 families and providing more than 60,000 hours of community 11 improvement projects at the area's schools, parks, and houses of 12 worship; and

13 WHEREAS, The council's jurisdiction includes more than 14 24,000 members in 600 units in Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, DeWitt, Fayette, Gillespie, Gonzales, Hays, Lavaca, Lee, Llano, 15 16 Mason, Travis, and Williamson Counties; the group's current projects involve creating a new practice field for a youth sports 17 group, refurbishing an animal rescue facility in Elgin, and 18 assisting with repairs and maintenance at a South Austin cemetery; 19 20 and

21 WHEREAS, During the last 100 years, the Capitol Area Council 22 of the Boy Scouts of America has distinguished itself through its 23 commendable service to the communities of Central Texas and by 24 providing area youth with the opportunity to enjoy the outdoors and

1

H.R. No. 129

1 gain valuable leadership skills; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby honor the Capitol Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America on the occasion of its centennial and extend to all those associated with the organization sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for the council as an expression of high regard by the 9 Texas House of Representatives.

> Dale Gonzales

H.R. No. 129

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 129 was adopted by the House on March 7, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House