RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the National Association of Insurance and 2 Financial Advisors-Texas (NAIFA-Texas), the Texas Association of 3 Health Underwriters (TAHU), and the Texas Association of Life and 4 Health Insurers (TALHI) are gathering in Austin on January 22, 5 2013, for their joint legislative day at the State Capitol; and

6 WHEREAS, NAIFA-Texas, which was founded in 1925 as the Texas 7 Association of Life Underwriters, is composed of more than 3,000 8 members statewide; led by president Douglas Massey, it advocates 9 for a positive legislative and regulatory environment and aims to 10 promote ethical conduct and enhance business and professional 11 skills among its membership; and

12 WHEREAS, TAHU was established in 1985 to represent the interests of licensed professional health insurance agents, 13 14 brokers, consultants, and benefit professionals; now the largest association of its kind in the state, it benefits from the 15 16 leadership of president Kelly Fristoe; its programs are designed to enhance the professional growth, knowledge, and integrity of its 17 members, thereby enabling them to better inform and protect the 18 consumer; and 19

20 WHEREAS, TALHI was formed in 1997, following the merger of 21 the Texas Life Insurance Association and the Texas Legal Reserve 22 Officials Association; under the guidance of chairman Tom Munson, 23 its mission is to ensure the continued viability of the life and 24 health insurance industry in Texas; and

1

1 WHEREAS, These organizations consistently work in behalf of 2 consumers and businesses to advance financial security and reliable 3 insurance, and their legislative day provides a fitting opportunity 4 to recognize the dedicated efforts of their members; now, 5 therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 7 Legislature hereby welcome members of the National Association of 8 Insurance and Financial Advisors-Texas, the Texas Association of 9 Health Underwriters, and the Texas Association of Life and Health 10 Insurers to the State Capitol on the occasion of their legislative 11 day and extend to all those in attendance sincere best wishes for an 12 enjoyable visit; and, be it further

13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 14 prepared for each association as an expression of high regard by the 15 Texas House of Representatives.

Darby

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 132 was adopted by the House on January 23, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House