## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Many proud citizens of Van Zandt County are
- 2 gathering at the State Capitol on February 20, 2013, to celebrate
- 3 the significant part they and their forebears have played in the
- 4 development of the Lone Star State; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Created by an Act of the Texas Legislature on March
- 6 20, 1847, this Northeast Texas county was named for Isaac Van Zandt,
- 7 a Republic of Texas lawyer, legislator, and diplomat; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Canton, the county seat, was laid out in 1850 and
- 9 incorporated in 1919; named a Main Street City in 2001, it is home
- 10 to the Van Zandt County Fair and First Monday Trade Days, one of the
- 11 country's best-known flea markets; a library of genealogy and local
- 12 history is also a popular attraction and preserves much of the
- 13 county's notable heritage; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The development of this fascinating area can be
- 15 traced in a number of other communities as well; Edgewood, settled
- 16 in the 1840s, boasts the Edgewood Heritage Park Museum, a facility
- 17 dedicated to the preservation of rural cultural and architectural
- 18 history; and
- WHEREAS, Edom, established in 1856, is one of the oldest
- 20 towns in the county, and its past is highlighted by 11 state
- 21 historical markers, many of them researched by members of the Edom
- 22 Historical Society; the residents of this small community also give
- 23 hearty support to an active civic theater; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Fruit cultivation prompted the naming of Fruitvale,

- 1 where a nursery operated as early as the 1870s; several generations
- 2 in this century-old town treasured the Randall Store, a local
- 3 institution first opened in 1910; and
- WHEREAS, Grand Saline, originally called Jordan's Saline,
- 5 the first Van Zandt County seat, takes its name from an immense dome
- 6 of pure salt lying beneath the city; more than a mile and a half wide
- 7 and 20,000 feet thick, the deposit is presently mined by Morton Salt
- 8 Company; the city celebrates salt with an annual Salt Festival;
- 9 those exploring this 2004 Main Street City can tour the Salt Palace
- 10 Museum, which is built with rock salt crystal, stop by the
- 11 historical marker commemorating native son and renowned pioneer
- 12 aviator Wiley Post, and visit the new Veterans Memorial Wall Park,
- 13 featuring a genuine U.S. Army tank; and
- WHEREAS, Van, established in 1891, remained a quiet farming
- 15 community until 1929, when the discovery of oil nearby transformed
- 16 the village into a boomtown; the Van Area Oil and Historical Museum
- 17 recaptures the excitement of that frenetic time and commemorates
- 18 the discovery with an annual Oil Festival; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Wills Point, settled in 1873 and originally known as
- 20 Iola, was renamed for William Wills, whose cabin served as a
- 21 stopping place for those traveling between Shreveport and Dallas;
- 22 the Wills cabin still stands, as does the Texas and Pacific Railroad
- 23 depot, which houses the Historical Society Museum; Wills Point,
- 24 which is officially the Bluebird Capital of Texas, hosts the annual
- 25 Bluebird Festival; and
- WHEREAS, Ben Wheeler, surrounded by natural springs and rich
- 27 farmland, was named for Van Zandt County's first mail carrier,

- 1 Benjamin R. Wheeler, in 1876; and
- WHEREAS, Martins Mill, which got its name from Dan R.
- 3 Martin's gristmill, was established in 1880 and is home to one of
- 4 the largest dairies in East Texas; the community survived
- 5 destruction by tornadoes and fires and today boasts a successful
- 6 school district; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Major events in the county include the Texas State
- 8 Bluegrass Festival, the Edom Festival of the Arts, and the Van Zandt
- 9 County Relay for Life; for the outdoor enthusiast, the Neches and
- 10 Sabine Rivers, Purtis Creek State Park, and Lake Tawakoni State
- 11 Park offer wonderful opportunities for fishing, boating, swimming,
- 12 and camping; and
- WHEREAS, The home of more than 52,000 people, Van Zandt
- 14 County relies on tourism, oil, and agribusiness; the area is a major
- 15 producer of hay, blueberries, sweet potatoes, and nursery crops, in
- 16 addition to cattle, horses, hogs, and dairy products; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The citizens of Van Zandt County take justifiable
- 18 pride in the hard work and ready cooperation that have made their
- 19 county strong, and it is a pleasure to join them in honoring the
- 20 county they are proud to call home; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize February 20, 2013, as Van Zandt County
- 23 Day at the State Capitol and extend sincere best wishes to the
- 24 visiting Van Zandt residents for an informative and memorable day.

Flynn

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 133
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 133 was a	adopted by the House on February
18, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House