H.R. No. 139

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Kingsville are gathering in Austin
on February 26, 2013, to celebrate Kingsville Day at the State
Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Founded on Independence Day in 1905, Kingsville is home to the world-famous King Ranch, which helped develop the Santa Gertrudis cattle breed and has long been a prominent supplier of quarter horses; moreover, the ranch was the home of Triple Crown winner Assault and has been a leader in agriculture for more than 150 years; and

WHEREAS, An important center of higher education in South 10 11 Texas since 1925, Texas A&M University--Kingsville includes the 12 Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering, the Dick and Mary Lewis Kleberg College of Agriculture, the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife 13 14 Research Institute, and the Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy; the university has claimed seven national football championships 15 and has recently been recognized for its excellent environmental 16 engineering program, jazz band, and wildlife society; this fine 17 18 institution continues to see enrollment increase every year and has opened a new dormitory and student recreation center, with 19 20 construction on a new dining facility under way; and

21 WHEREAS, Naval Air Station Kingsville features the premier 22 undergraduate pilot training facility in the United States, which 23 prepares U.S. Navy and Marine Corps pilots for their key role in 24 national defense; in recent years, the base has added an Army

1

Reserve Medical Evacuation unit and an Armed Forces Reserve Center;
moreover, the station is now home to the local sector of the U.S.
Border Patrol; and

WHEREAS, Kingsville, along with the rest of Kleberg County and neighboring Kenedy County, is a place of diversified industries; thanks to the presence of companies producing oil, gas, nuclear, wind, and solar power, the area's economy has continued to grow, resulting in new jobs and an improved quality of life for residents; among the businesses based in Kingsville are Proco, Inc. and Texas Cementing Services; and

11 WHEREAS, The hardworking and forward-looking citizens of 12 Kingsville are building on a long tradition of progressive 13 development, and their achievements are indeed deserving of special 14 recognition; now, therefore, be it

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 16 Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 2013, as Kingsville Day 17 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 18 best wishes for a memorable stay in Austin.

Lozano

H.R. No. 139

2

H.R. No. 139

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 139

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 139 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House