H.R. No. 144

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The year 2013 marks the 35th anniversary of the
- 2 founding of the Williamson County Republican Party, and this
- 3 special occasion provides a fitting opportunity to honor the
- 4 organization for its myriad efforts in behalf of the GOP; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Since the group's establishment in 1978, its members
- 6 have worked diligently to advance the ideals of the Republican
- 7 Party; their dedication has helped to ensure the election of GOP
- 8 candidates to numerous offices, and their efforts have increased
- 9 the political awareness of individuals throughout Central Texas;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, Williamson County elected its first Republican of
- 12 the 20th century in 1982, when Dusty Gilliam defeated Margaret Wood
- 13 in the race for Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1; since that time,
- 14 the region has produced many victories for the party, which
- 15 continues to provide leadership on a local, state, and national
- 16 level today; and
- WHEREAS, In the year 2000, Republicans represented 100
- 18 percent of Williamson County; currently, three state
- 19 representatives, a state senator, and a U.S. congressman all call
- 20 the area home; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Members of the Williamson County Republican Party
- 22 continue to make a lasting difference through their political
- 23 activism, and they may take justifiable pride in their rich history
- 24 of civic engagement; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 144

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate all those associated with the
- 3 Williamson County Republican Party on the organization's 35th
- 4 anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future;
- 5 and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Dale Farney Gonzales

## H.R. No. 144

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Otto Alonzo Alvarado Guerra Paddie Anchia Guillen Parker Gutierrez Anderson Patrick Harless Ashby Perez Harper-Brown Perry Aycock Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna Bohac Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Ratliff Burkett Hughes Burnam Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Button Johnson Riddle Callegari Canales Kacal Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Capriglione Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor Carter Rodriguez of Travis Clardy Rose Coleman Sanford King of Zavala Collier Schaefer Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell Krause Simmons Creighton Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Larson Smith Darby Laubenberg Smithee Springer Davis of Dallas Lavender J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Lozano Taylor Dutton Thompson of Brazoria Lucio III Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris Elkins Martinez Toth Martinez Fischer Fallon Turner of Collin Farias McClendon Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Menendez Farney Miles Villalba Farrar Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Fort Bend Flynn Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morrison White Workman Geren Munoz, Jr. Giddings Murphy Wıı Zedler Goldman Naishtat Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas

|                                 | H.R. No. 144                     |
|---------------------------------|----------------------------------|
|                                 |                                  |
|                                 | Speaker of the House             |
| I certify that H.R. No. 144 was | adopted by the House on February |
| 6, 2013, by a non-record vote.  |                                  |
|                                 |                                  |
|                                 | Chief Clerk of the House         |