H.R. No. 145

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The San Angelo Standard-Times celebrated its 125th
- 2 anniversary in 2009 and was honored with a Texas Treasure Business
- 3 Award from the Texas Historical Commission; and
- WHEREAS, Created in 2005, the Texas Treasure Business Award
- 5 recognizes the contributions of Texas-based businesses that have
- 6 been in continuous operation for at least 50 years; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The San Angelo Standard-Times was established in
- 8 1884, five years before the railroad came to town; in its first
- 9 issue, owners and editors W. A. Guthrie and J. G. Murphy described
- 10 how the Standard-Times would contribute to the prosperity of Tom
- 11 Green County by advertising the area's advantage for
- 12 "stock-raising, farming, and manufacturing"; and
- WHEREAS, Now owned by The E. W. Scripps Company, the
- 14 Standard-Times is a leading news source for residents in a
- 15 39-county region of central and west Texas; among numerous other
- 16 distinctions, it was named the 2008 Newspaper of the Year in both
- 17 the print and online categories of its circulation class by the
- 18 Texas Associated Press Managing Editors; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The San Angelo Standard-Times has built an
- 20 outstanding record over the course of its nearly 130-year history,
- 21 and it continues to play a vital role in the community by keeping
- 22 citizens informed on matters of local, state, and national
- 23 significance; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 145

- 1 Legislature hereby honor the San Angelo Standard-Times as a Texas
- 2 Treasure Business Award recipient and commend the many people who
- 3 have contributed to the paper's success through the years; and, be
- 4 it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the San Angelo Standard-Times as an expression of high
- 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Darby

H.R. No. 145

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 145 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House