H.R. No. 149

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Stewart Title Company of Houston, which is
- 2 celebrating its 120th anniversary in 2013, has achieved distinction
- 3 for its myriad contributions to the economic growth and prosperity
- 4 of Texas; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Originally known as Stewart Law and Land Title
- 6 Office, the company traces its beginnings to 1893, when attorney
- 7 Maco Stewart purchased Gulf City Abstract Company in Galveston; in
- 8 1905, Mr. Stewart and his brother, Minor, offered the first title
- 9 insurance to be sold in Texas; as the state grew, so did the need for
- 10 accurate land documentation, and the company played a major role in
- 11 the development of the title industry; Stewart Title Guaranty
- 12 Company was the first firm authorized to write title insurance in
- 13 Texas, and it soon opened offices in many major cities around the
- 14 state; and
- WHEREAS, In 1956, Stewart Title began its expansion across
- 16 the nation; the holding company Stewart Information Services
- 17 Corporation was formed in 1970, and two years later it began trading
- 18 publicly on the New York Stock Exchange; by the 1990s, the company
- 19 had more than 2,700 branches and a presence in all 50 states; the
- 20 firm has repeatedly appeared in Forbes magazine's list of top
- 21 performing big companies, and in 2012 it was the only title company
- 22 to be named by Forbes as "One of America's Most Trustworthy
- 23 Companies"; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Stewart Title has long been a leading corporate

H.R. No. 149

- 1 citizen in its home state; the business supports myriad community
- 2 initiatives, charitable organizations, educational programs, and
- 3 first-time homebuyer assistance efforts across Texas; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Texas Historical Commission recognized Stewart
- 5 Title Company in 2007 with its Texas Treasure Business Award, an
- 6 accolade that pays tribute to those enterprises that have been in
- 7 continuous existence for at least half a century; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Stewart Title Company has built an outstanding
- 9 record over the course of its 120-year history, and it continues to
- 10 play a vital role in the Lone Star State by stimulating economic
- 11 growth, providing employment, and contributing to civic endeavors;
- 12 now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby honor Stewart Title Company as a Texas Treasure
- 15 Business Award recipient and commend the company for the notable
- 16 part it has played in advancing the development of the Lone Star
- 17 State; and, be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for Stewart Title Company as an expression of high regard
- 20 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Menendez

## H.R. No. 149

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Otto Alonzo Alvarado Guerra Paddie Anchia Guillen Parker Gutierrez Anderson Patrick Harless Ashby Perez Harper-Brown Perry Aycock Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna Bohac Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Ratliff Burkett Hughes Burnam Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Button Johnson Riddle Callegari Canales Kacal Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Capriglione Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor Carter Rodriguez of Travis Clardy Rose Coleman Sanford King of Zavala Collier Schaefer Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell Krause Simmons Creighton Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Larson Smith Darby Laubenberg Smithee Springer Davis of Dallas Lavender J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Lozano Taylor Dutton Thompson of Brazoria Lucio III Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris Elkins Martinez Toth Martinez Fischer Fallon Turner of Collin Farias McClendon Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Menendez Farney Miles Villalba Farrar Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Fort Bend Flynn Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morrison White Workman Geren Munoz, Jr. Giddings Murphy Wıı Zedler Goldman Naishtat Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas

	H.R. No. 149
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 149 was 23, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on January
	Chief Clerk of the House