H.R. No. 150

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For a decade, the American Heart Association's Go
- 2 Red For Women program has been educating citizens on the real risks
- 3 of cardiovascular diseases; and
- 4 WHEREAS, While only 20 percent of American women consider
- 5 cardiovascular disease their greatest health risk, heart disease
- 6 remains the number one cause of death for women, claiming more
- 7 lives than all forms of cancer combined; and
- 8 WHEREAS, An estimated 43 million women in the United States
- 9 are affected by cardiovascular diseases; although progress has been
- 10 made in recent years, women still make up only 24 percent of
- 11 participants in heart-related studies, while more women than men
- 12 have died each year from heart disease since 1984; and
- WHEREAS, The American Heart Association has designated
- 14 February as American Heart Month, and as part of the effort to raise
- 15 awareness about heart disease and stroke, the Go Red For Women
- 16 campaign works to change the perception that heart disease occurs
- 17 only in men; moreover, the campaign encourages women to talk to
- 18 their health care providers about their risk factors and to make
- 19 simple changes to their lifestyle by using such tools as the
- 20 association's BetterU nutrition and fitness program; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Go Red For Women serves as a powerful reminder that
- 22 by taking charge of their heart health women can live stronger,
- 23 longer lives; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

H.R. No. 150

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize February 1, 2013, as National Wear Red
- 2 Day and encourage all Texans to show their support for women and the
- 3 fight against heart disease by wearing the color red.

Howard Sheffield of Coryell King of Taylor Rose Harless Collier Patrick Stephenson

H.R. No. 150

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 150
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 150 was	adopted by the House on January
30, 2013, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House