RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The residents of Nacogdoches lost one of their most
 esteemed community leaders with the death of Nacogdoches Memorial
 Hospital CEO Tim Hayward on January 5, 2013, at the age of 49; and

WHEREAS, Born in Bristol, Pennsylvania, on January 10, 1963,
Tim Hayward was a graduate of Katy High School and Stephen F. Austin
State University, where he joined Theta Chi Fraternity; initially
drawn to the field of education, he earned his bachelor's degree in
that discipline; and

9 WHEREAS, During his freshman year at SFA, Mr. Hayward began 10 working at Nacogdoches Memorial Hospital as a part-time 11 phlebotomist; he continued as a member of the hospital staff after 12 his graduation, serving as a certified medical technologist and 13 later as director of infection control and of utilization and risk 14 management; in 2000, he assumed the office of CEO; and

WHEREAS, Under his leadership, Nacogdoches Memorial Hospital 15 16 experienced notable progress, achieving certification as a Level Three Trauma Center, becoming a Joint Commission Certified Stroke 17 Center, and earning accreditation for its Chest Pain Center; in 18 addition, Mr. Hayward oversaw the opening of a new ICU/ER tower and 19 20 pioneered outreach programs designed to expand the hospital's 21 service to the community; he created the Healthy Nacogdoches Coalition, which was instrumental in the city's selection as a 22 23 Heart and Stroke Healthy City by the Texas Department of State Health Services, and he collaborated with a range of 24 local

1

1 government groups to form the Rural East Texas Health Network for
2 Mental Health Transformation; along the way, he distinguished
3 himself as a caring and generous leader, earning the respect of his
4 staff and area medical professionals; and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Hayward was the loving husband of Laura Hayward, 6 with whom he shared 28 years, and the proud father of three 7 children, Samantha, Sara, and Patrick; and

8 WHEREAS, Deeply devoted to his family and his community, Tim 9 Hayward made a meaningful difference in the lives of his loved ones 10 and fellow citizens alike, and although his time on this earth ended 11 far too soon, he leaves behind a legacy that will be treasured for 12 years to come; now, therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 14 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Tim Hayward and 15 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, 16 Laura; to his children, Samantha, Sara, and Patrick; to his mother, 17 Susan; to his brothers, Mike, Steve, and Christopher; to his 18 sisters, Kim and Kristina; and to his other relatives and many 19 friends; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House 22 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Tim 23 Hayward.

Clardy

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 151 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on January 30, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House