H.R. No. 156

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Communities In Schools of Texas has made a positive difference in the lives of countless youth and their families; and WHEREAS, Part of the nation's largest dropout prevention network, CIS of Texas was established in Houston in 1979, and through the years it has expanded to include 28 programs throughout the state; and

7 WHEREAS, This worthwhile organization works to create 8 partnerships with local school districts, businesses, and the 9 community in an effort to provide critical services to students at 10 risk of dropping out; of the thousands of participants served by CIS 11 each year, 98 percent stay in school and 94 percent are promoted to 12 the next grade; and

WHEREAS, Helping young Texans to prepare for successful futures, Communities In Schools of Texas is a program of immeasurable importance, and it is a pleasure to recognize it for the support it provides to students in the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 19 Legislature hereby recognize January 30, 2013, as Communities In 20 Schools Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Aycock Naishtat

1

H.R. No. 156

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 156

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 156 was adopted by the House on January 30, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House