H.R. No. 164

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Locally owned restaurants add to the diversity and
- 2 flavor of Texas towns and cities, and Madres' Cocina restaurant in
- 3 Forney has celebrated 15 years of contributing to its community;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, After learning their trade at the Tex-Mex restaurant
- 6 Viva, Sheri and Billy Garza fulfilled their long-held dream of
- 7 starting their own restaurant when they opened Madres' Cocina 15
- 8 years ago; and
- 9 WHEREAS, This welcoming, family-owned establishment has
- 10 since become a favorite gathering spot for area residents; the
- 11 restaurant received a four-star rating from the local newspaper in
- 12 2008, and in 2009, it was rated one of the top 10 restaurants in
- 13 Forney; and
- 14 WHEREAS, In the late summer of 2012, Madres' Cocina
- 15 celebrated its 15th anniversary with a festive week of events
- 16 benefiting cancer survivors, including a race car raffle and a
- 17 tamale eating contest; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The well-being of the people of Texas depends on a
- 19 vibrant economy, and independent businesses that are engaged with
- 20 their communities are to be commended for the vital role they play
- 21 in the prosperity and cultural richness of the Lone Star State; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Madres' Cocina on its 15th

H.R. No. 164

- 1 anniversary and extend to the Garzas and their staff sincere best
- 2 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Garza as an expression of high regard by
- 5 the Texas House of Representatives.

Gooden

H.R. No. 164

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Otto Alonzo Alvarado Guerra Paddie Anchia Guillen Parker Gutierrez Anderson Patrick Harless Ashby Perez Harper-Brown Perry Aycock Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna Bohac Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Ratliff Burkett Hughes Burnam Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Button Johnson Riddle Callegari Canales Kacal Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Capriglione Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor Carter Rodriguez of Travis Clardy Rose Coleman Sanford King of Zavala Collier Schaefer Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell Kolkhorst Craddick Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Creighton Krause Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Smith Larson Darby Laubenberg Smithee Davis of Dallas Springer Lavender J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Lozano Taylor Dutton Thompson of Brazoria Lucio III Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris Elkins Martinez Toth Martinez Fischer Fallon Turner of Collin Farias McClendon Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Menendez Farney Miles Villalba Farrar Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Fort Bend Flynn Vo Walle Frank Moody Frullo Morrison White Workman Geren Munoz, Jr. Giddings Murphy Wıı Zedler Goldman Naishtat Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 164
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 164 was 18, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House