H.R. No. 188

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The State of Texas lost a groundbreaking journalist
 and tireless champion of open government with the death of Beverly
 Ann Arnold of Austin on September 1, 2012, at the age of 67; and

WHEREAS, Born on April 6, 1945, in Jackson, Mississippi, the 4 5 former Ann Watson was the daughter of Bill and Mildred Watson; her interest in journalism was sparked as a young student in Little 6 7 Rock, Arkansas, where the integration of Central High School in 1957 made the national news; following her family's move to Fort 8 Worth, she began a newspaper in her junior high school and continued 9 to write for the L. D. Bell High School newspaper and community 10 11 publications until her graduation; and

12 WHEREAS, Mrs. Arnold attended Texas A&M University in 13 Arlington and transferred to The University of Texas at Austin; 14 throughout her years in college, she contributed to various papers, 15 including the *Daily Texan* and the *Dallas Times Herald*, winning a 16 Headliners award for her work in 1966; she graduated with a 17 bachelor's degree in journalism in 1968 and that same year married 18 her high school sweetheart, Reg Arnold; and

WHEREAS, In the 1970s, when few women worked in the Capitol Press Corps, Mrs. Arnold joined the Capitol bureau of UPI and covered the actions of the state legislature as well as a number of controversial stories, including the Sharpstown scandal; she embarked on a career with the *Fort Worth Star-Telegram* in 1980 and, while interviewing governor-elect Mark White, was offered a job;

1

1 she soon became the first female press secretary to a Texas
2 governor; and

H.R. No. 188

3 WHEREAS, Later, Mrs. Arnold served as president of the Texas Association of Broadcasters, and over the course of her more than 4 5 decades in that role, membership doubled and programs two significantly expanded; under her able leadership, TAB became a 6 strong backer of the state's open government laws and lobbied for an 7 8 improved emergency alert system; Mrs. Arnold oversaw the creation of a new permanent office for TAB and expanded the Texas Broadcast 9 10 Education Foundation's endowment; in 2008, TAB honored her with its first Lifetime Achievement award; and 11

WHEREAS, Mrs. Arnold also worked closely with legislators to pass the Texas Free Flow of Information Act and the Texas Citizens Participation Act; in recognition of her diligent efforts, the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas presented her with its James Madison Award in 2001; moreover, she served as the president of the National Alliance of State Broadcasters Associations in 2005; and

WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Mrs. Arnold enjoyed the loveand support of her husband and their sons, Merle and Jonathan; and

21 WHEREAS, A stalwart advocate of the people's right to 22 information, Ann Arnold will be deeply missed, but her courage, 23 tenacity, and vision will forever inspire all who had the good 24 fortune to know her; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Beverly Ann Arnold and extend sincere sympathy to the members of her family: to her sons,

2

1 Merle Arnold and his wife, Julie, and Jonathan Arnold; to her 2 sister, Sue March; and to her other relatives and many friends; and, 3 be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for the members of her family and that when the Texas House 6 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Ann 7 Arnold.

Paddie

H.R. No. 188

H.R. No. 188

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 188

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 188 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 28, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House