H.R. No. 210

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Many of Irving's most distinguished civic and
- 2 business leaders are gathering in Austin today to celebrate Irving
- 3 Day at the State Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Established as a small settlement on a railroad line
- 5 in the late 1800s, Irving has witnessed phenomenal growth since the
- 6 mid-20th century, when it had only about 3,000 residents; spurring
- 7 its development, the Plymouth Park Shopping Center opened in 1955,
- 8 the University of Dallas opened in 1956, and Irving Community
- 9 Hospital opened in 1964; DFW International Airport and the Las
- 10 Colinas and Valley Ranch master-planned business and residential
- 11 communities further contributed to the boom, and today the city
- 12 boasts a population of more than 215,000; and
- WHEREAS, Irving is one of the nation's premiere destinations
- 14 for domestic and international corporate relocations; it is the
- 15 home of a five-star chamber of commerce, the Greater Irving-Las
- 16 Colinas Chamber of Commerce, which actively represents the
- 17 interests of the largest business park in North Texas; 8,500
- 18 companies, including more than 50 companies in the Fortune 500 and
- 19 the global headquarters of ExxonMobil, Celanese, Kimberly-Clark,
- 20 the Commercial Metals Company, and Fluor, are located in the city;
- 21 and
- 22 WHEREAS, Irving's educational and cultural resources make it
- 23 a fine place to live and work; the University of Dallas, North Lake
- 24 College, and other institutions provide outstanding postsecondary

H.R. No. 210

- 1 education, and the city's visual and performing arts groups,
- 2 symphony orchestras, youth arts programs, nearby sports and
- 3 entertainment venues, and riverside hiking and biking trails offer
- 4 almost unlimited opportunities for fun; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Irving is a forward-looking and vibrant city, which
- 6 benefits greatly from the farsighted leadership of Mayor Beth Van
- 7 Duyne and the members of the city council, Michael E. Gallaway, Roy
- 8 Santoscoy, Dennis Webb, Joe Putnam, Rose Cannaday, Brad
- 9 M. LaMorgese, Gerald Farris, and Thomas D. Spink, and its creative
- 10 and hardworking citizens are to be commended for their
- 11 contributions to the prosperity of the Lone Star State; now,
- 12 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2013, as Irving Day at
- 15 the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting
- 16 delegation.

Harper-Brown Ratliff Anchia

## H.R. No. 210

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menedez Miler of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Murchet	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Toth Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 210
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 210 was 12, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House