RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, February 2, 2013, marks 42 years since the adoption
- 2 of the Convention on Wetlands, and mindful citizens from Texas and
- 3 around the globe will take part in activities to raise awareness of
- 4 this vital natural resource; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Convention on Wetlands of International
- 6 Importance, known as the Ramsar Convention, is an intergovernmental
- 7 treaty that provides the framework for national action and
- 8 international cooperation for the conservation and wise use of
- 9 wetlands and their resources; each year since 1997, governments,
- 10 nongovernmental organizations, and conservationists have
- 11 celebrated the anniversary to increase understanding about the
- 12 value of wetlands; and
- WHEREAS, There are more than 300 miles of coastline and
- 14 millions of acres of wetlands in Texas; this critical terrain is
- 15 invaluable to wildlife and humans both, as among its functions are
- 16 flood control, water filtration, and nutrient cycling, as well as
- 17 serving as a reproductive environment for birds and fishes; in
- 18 addition, the shorelines, lakes, swamps, and marshes of the Lone
- 19 Star State stabilize carbon dioxide levels and provide
- 20 opportunities for recreation; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department has
- 22 indicated that about half of Texas' historic wetlands acreage has
- 23 been developed for housing, industry, and other uses; with the
- 24 observance of World Wetlands Day, Texans affirm the significance of

H.R. No. 226

- 1 these habitats and commit to protecting them for the benefit of all;
- 2 now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby recognize February 2, 2013, as World Wetlands
- 5 Day and encourage residents throughout the state to learn more
- 6 about these important ecosystems.

Farrar

H.R. No. 226

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 226
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 226 was 4, 2013, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House