H.R. No. 228

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A number of honored guests from Texas A&M
 University-Corpus Christi are gathering at the State Capitol on
 February 13, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Tracing its origins to the founding of the University of Corpus Christi in 1947, this notable institution opened its doors as Texas A&I University at Corpus Christi in 1973; four years later, the school's name was changed to Corpus Christi State University, and it joined The Texas A&M University System in 1989; and

10 WHEREAS, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi became a 11 four-year comprehensive university in 1994; in the following 12 decade, it added the College of Nursing and Health Sciences, and its 13 president and chief executive officer, Dr. Flavius Killebrew, 14 implemented Momentum 2015, a 10-year plan to become the flagship 15 university for South Texas; and

WHEREAS, Today, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi has an 16 enrollment of more than 10,000 students from 48 states and 67 17 18 countries; it offers bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees in the colleges of business, education, liberal arts, science and 19 20 technology, and nursing and health sciences; designated by the 21 federal government as a Hispanic-Serving Institution, it helps 22 students close educational gaps within a supportive, multicultural 23 learning community; the school also promotes involvement in 24 athletics through its intercollegiate program of 14 men's and

1

1 women's sports as a member of the Southland Conference and NCAA
2 Division I-AAA; and

3 WHEREAS, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi provides its 4 students with an exceptional education and a solid foundation for 5 future success, and in so doing, it contributes to the continued 6 vitality and prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be 7 it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 9 Legislature hereby recognize February 13, 2013, as Texas A&M 10 University-Corpus Christi Day at the State Capitol and extend to 11 all those associated with this esteemed institution sincere best 12 wishes for continued success.

> Hunter Lozano Herrero Morrison

H.R. No. 228

H.R. No. 228

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 228

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 228 was adopted by the House on February 13, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House