## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Port Aransas are gathering in
Austin to celebrate Port Aransas Day at the State Capitol on March
5, 2013; and

WHEREAS, The town's location on Mustang Island was first inhabited by the Karankawa Indians, and in the early 1800s, it was frequented by the famed buccaneer Jean Lafitte; the natural passage between the island and St. Joseph Island was originally named Aranzazu and later became known as Aransas Pass; and

9 WHEREAS, In 1855, an English sheep and cattle rancher named 10 Robert A. Mercer built a cabin on Mustang Island at the site that 11 later became the town; Elihu Harrison Ropes started a project to dig 12 a channel across the island in 1890, and the community that grew 13 around the new post office was called Ropesville; in 1896, it was 14 renamed Tarpon to highlight the island's fine fishing, and in 1911, 15 the town was officially designated as Port Aransas; and

16 WHEREAS, Since World War II, the city has become one of the 17 most popular resort destinations on the Texas Gulf Coast; the 18 superb beaches of nearby Mustang Island State Park draw campers, 19 swimmers, and surfers from across the Lone Star State, and the 20 town's launching ramps and four lighted piers enable anglers to 21 catch a wide diversity of fish, including red snapper, shark, sand 22 trout, tuna, and bonito; and

23 WHEREAS, Port Aransas is also one of the top bird-watching 24 destinations in the nation, and the Leonabelle Turnbull Birding

1

Center, the Port Aransas Wetlands Habitat Park, and other nature
centers afford fine opportunities to view local species such as
herons and roseate spoonbills as well as the annual migrations of
hummingbirds, flycatchers, and orioles; and

5 WHEREAS, The rich variety of sea life that resides along the 6 Gulf Coast can be appreciated at the aquariums at The University of 7 Texas Marine Science Institute; visitors also delight in the town's 8 many fine art galleries, shops, seafood restaurants, and hotels, 9 including the historic Tarpon Inn, which has hosted such famous 10 visitors as President Franklin Delano Roosevelt and movie star Hedy 11 Lamarr; and

12 WHEREAS, Blessed with natural beauty and a colorful history, 13 Port Aransas is one of the jewels of the Lone Star State, and its 14 citizens may indeed take great pride in their heritage and ongoing 15 achievements; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 17 Legislature hereby recognize March 5, 2013, as Port Aransas Day at 18 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 19 best wishes for a meaningful and memorable visit to Austin.

Hunter

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 229 was adopted by the House on March 5, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House