H.R. No. 231

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texas Senior Day is taking place on February 12,
- 2 2013, and this occasion offers a welcome opportunity to pay tribute
- 3 to the many contributions made by the senior citizens of this state;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, Today, more than four million Texans are at least 60
- 6 years of age, and by the year 2020, it is estimated that over 5.5
- 7 million Texans will be senior citizens; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Senior Texans have provided decades of service as
- 9 community leaders and have played a vital role in building the
- 10 public and private sectors of the Texas economy and in enriching the
- 11 cultural life of the state; and
- 12 WHEREAS, These exceptional citizens have helped Texas
- 13 achieve greatness in agriculture, education, industry, information
- 14 technology, literature, music, the visual and performing arts,
- 15 medicine, science, space exploration, and sports; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The sacrifices that many older Americans have made
- 17 at home and abroad during military service are deserving of special
- 18 recognition; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Valued as mentors for the experience and wisdom they
- 20 have gained over the years, senior Texans are also revered as role
- 21 models for their exemplary service to others and their enthusiasm
- 22 for living life to the fullest; and
- WHEREAS, Our seniors reflect our diverse ethnic, spiritual,
- 24 and cultural roots and remind us of the common bonds and pride we

H.R. No. 231

- 1 share as citizens of this state and nation; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2013, as Texas Senior Day
- 4 at the Capitol and extend sincere appreciation to the senior
- 5 citizens of Texas for their many contributions to the Lone Star
- 6 State.

Naishtat

H.R. No. 231

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 231
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 231 was 12, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House