H.R. No. 238

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, January 30, 2013, marks the 45th anniversary of the
- 2 launching of the Tet Offensive during the Vietnam War, and this is a
- 3 fitting opportunity to remember the nearly 4,000 American military
- 4 personnel who made the ultimate sacrifice during those harrowing
- 5 weeks and months; and
- 6 WHEREAS, In the early morning hours of January 30, 1968, in
- 7 violation of a lunar new year truce, 84,000 North Vietnamese and
- 8 Viet Cong troops launched the massive Tet Offensive, attacking 105
- 9 cities and towns throughout South Vietnam; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Although they were taken by surprise, American
- 11 troops acquitted themselves with bravery and skill in innumerable
- 12 instances of bitter combat; notable battles included those in the
- 13 cities of Saigon and Hue and at the marine base at Khe Sanh and
- 14 surrounding outposts; and
- WHEREAS, The attacks were eventually repelled, and the Viet
- 16 Cong were effectively destroyed as a fighting force; the Tet
- 17 Offensive cost more than 50,000 lives, including those of 14,000
- 18 civilians and 3,895 American soldiers; in mid-February alone, 543
- 19 Americans were killed, the highest weekly total of the entire war;
- 20 and
- 21 WHEREAS, Nearly half a century later, the courage displayed
- 22 by American troops during the Tet Offensive continues to exemplify
- 23 the highest standard of bravery, and those who paid the last full
- 24 measure of devotion are forever deserving of remembrance and honor

H.R. No. 238

- 1 by the country they served; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the lives of those Americans who
- 4 fell in battle during the Tet Offensive of the Vietnam War.

Dale Vo

H.R. No. 238

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 238 was	adopted by the House on January
13, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 238

30, 2013, by a non-record vote.