## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texas Farm Bureau is holding its 2013 Leadership 2 Conference on January 27-30 in Austin, and this occasion provides a 3 fitting opportunity to recognize an organization that has played an 4 essential role in Texas agriculture for 80 years; and

5 WHEREAS, Agriculture is one of the leading industries in the 6 Lone Star State, annually helping to infuse more than \$36 billion 7 into our economy; keeping pace with the demands of a growing 8 population, production continues to increase, thanks in part to 9 advances in recordkeeping, machinery, and computer technology; and

10 WHEREAS, The farmers and ranchers of our state provide for 11 the most essential needs of their fellow citizens by ensuring an 12 abundant, reliable, and affordable supply of food and fiber, and 13 since 1933, Texas Farm Bureau has provided a united voice for these 14 hardworking men and women; and

15 WHEREAS, Focusing on grassroots policy development, the 16 association represents the interests of agricultural producers in 17 the legislative process at both the state and national levels while 18 assisting members through a range of benefits and services; and

WHEREAS, Today, with more than 480,000 participants, Texas Farm Bureau is one of the largest groups of farmers, ranchers, and rural families in the world; among its many accomplishments, the organization has helped to achieve an improved farm-to-market road system, protection of property rights, and the implementation of animal health programs; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Agriculture is an important part of Texas history 2 and a critical part of its future, and the efforts of Texas Farm 3 Bureau are helping to sustain and advance this vital industry; now, 4 therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 6 Legislature hereby commemorate the 2013 Texas Farm Bureau 7 Leadership Conference and extend to all those in attendance sincere 8 best wishes for a memorable and meaningful gathering.

> Price Lavender Guillen Gonzales Kacal

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 239 was adopted by the House on January 30, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House