H.R. No. 242

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A number of proud Texans are gathering in Austin on
- 2 January 29, 2013, to celebrate Historically Black Colleges and
- 3 Universities Day at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, With origins that date as far back as the 1870s,
- 5 historically black colleges and universities have played a dynamic
- 6 role in Texas history; after Reconstruction, the first colleges for
- 7 African Americans in Texas were established by religious
- 8 organizations, and state-sponsored schools soon followed; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Despite facing serious financial obstacles, many of
- 10 the schools flourished thanks to the perseverance and creativity of
- 11 countless dedicated administrators and educators; among the myriad
- 12 distinguished alumni of Texas HBCUs are NAACP activist John H.
- 13 Wells, folklorist J. Mason Brewer, civil-rights advocate James L.
- 14 Farmer, Jr., and groundbreaking politician Barbara Jordan; and
- WHEREAS, Today, the HBCUs of Texas include Huston-Tillotson
- 16 University, Jarvis Christian College, Paul Quinn College, Prairie
- 17 View A&M University, St. Philip's College, Southwestern Christian
- 18 College, Texas College, Texas Southern University, and Wiley
- 19 College; and
- WHEREAS, Historically black colleges and universities have
- 21 deep roots in the Lone Star State and have provided outstanding
- 22 educational opportunities for countless Texans, and this special
- 23 day provides a fitting opportunity to honor these notable
- 24 institutions; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 242

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize January 29, 2013, as Historically
- 3 Black Colleges and Universities Day at the State Capitol and call on
- 4 all Texans to learn more about the contributions made by HBCUs to
- 5 the history and prosperity of the Lone Star State.

Thompson of Harris

H.R. No. 242

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Munoz, Jr.	White Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 242
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 242 was	adopted by the House on January
29, 2013, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House