RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize the members of the Washington's Birthday Celebration 3 Association and the association's president, Bob Weathers, on their 4 successful annual planning of the celebration of Washington's 5 Birthday in Laredo; and

6 WHEREAS, Every year, the citizens of Laredo celebrate the 7 birthday of the Father of Our Country; the Washington's Birthday 8 Celebration Association sponsors the celebration to pay tribute to 9 the memory of George Washington and to his virtues and his 10 patriotism; the 116th celebration will take place from January 24 11 through February 25, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Since its beginning as a two-day event in 1898, the Washington's Birthday Celebration gradually has evolved into a grand celebration entailing numerous events in the United States and in Mexico; spectators and participants enjoy marching bands and floats, spectacular fireworks displays, food, games, and entertainers from both sides of the border; and

18 WHEREAS, The yearly celebrations exemplify the spirit and 19 enthusiasm of Laredoans and the pride they take in their city and 20 country; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby commend the members of the Washington's Birthday Celebration Association on their patriotism and their dedication and extend best wishes to them for a joyous 116th birthday

1

1 celebration; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Raymond

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 244 was adopted by the House on January 29, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House