H.R. No. 245

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Cindy Todd of Westlake High School in Austin has
- 2 been named the 2012 H. L. Hall National Yearbook Adviser of the
- 3 Year by the Journalism Education Association; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Mrs. Todd teaches classes on journalism and
- 5 yearbook, as well as serving as the school's yearbook adviser;
- 6 under her guidance, that annual publication, El Paisano, has
- 7 received Pacemaker awards from the National Scholastic Press
- 8 Association and Crown awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press
- 9 Association; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In addition to her duties at Westlake, Mrs. Todd
- 11 instructs students across the country, and she taught 12 journalism
- 12 seminars in 6 states in the summer of 2012 alone; moreover, she has
- 13 assisted yearbook staff at other schools through workshops and
- 14 videoconferencing; and
- WHEREAS, Active in several professional organizations,
- 16 Mrs. Todd is a former president of the Texas Association of
- 17 Journalism Educators, and in 2008, she was named the Texas High
- 18 School Journalism Teacher of the Year; she is also a member of JEA
- 19 and has helped develop its student affiliation, "j"; and
- WHEREAS, Dedicated to enriching her students' educational
- 21 experience within the classroom and beyond, Cindy Todd has set an
- 22 outstanding example of leadership to which other journalism
- 23 teachers may aspire, and she is indeed deserving of this
- 24 prestigious award; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 245

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Cindy Todd on her selection as the
- 3 2012 H. L. Hall National Yearbook Adviser of the Year and extend to
- 4 her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mrs. Todd as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Howard

H.R. No. 245

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 245 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House