RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The football team of C. H. Yoe High School in
- 2 Cameron captured the 2012 University Interscholastic League 2A
- 3 Division 1 state championship on December 21, 2012, with a victory
- 4 in the title game held at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Facing 2010 state champion Daingerfield High, the
- 6 Yoemen got off to a fast start, converting an interception and a
- 7 blocked punt into first quarter touchdowns and racing to a 21-0
- 8 advantage; the team later extended its lead to 28 points and coasted
- 9 home with a comfortable 38-20 triumph; Keaton Denio was named the
- 10 offensive most valuable player, and teammate Somari Wright took MVP
- 11 honors on the defensive side; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The Yoemen reached the finals after a four-game
- 13 playoff run in which they defeated Marion, Lago Vista,
- 14 Hallettsville, and Newton, winning the contests by an average
- 15 margin of 22 points; the title game victory capped an undefeated
- 16 15-0 season and gave Cameron Yoe its second state football
- 17 championship and its first in Conference 2A; and
- WHEREAS, Proving itself a powerhouse throughout the season,
- 19 the team contained a total of 11 All-State players: Mr. Denio,
- 20 Mr. Wright, Edgar Luna, Tyler Vrazel, Jason Kopriva, Tyler Sapp,
- 21 Randle Lane, Zach Riola, Colton Shuffield, Zach Felts, and Michael
- 22 Evan; most of these athletes were part of the squad's Leadership
- 23 Council, as were Colt Labay, Dylan Riola, Colton Shelton, Michael
- 24 Gelner, and Josh Smitherman; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Excelling with a true team effort, the Yoemen also 2 received valuable contributions from the other members of the
- 3 roster: Austin Christy, Jalen White, Reid Nickerson, Demetrius
- 4 Valdez, Aaron Sims, J'Juan Anderson, Shawn May, Adam Charanza,
- 5 Justin Pratt, Patrick Spells, Carson Hanel, Ryan Cullen, Brandon
- 6 Vargas, Jonathan McAnulty, Jonathan Riggs, Khalil Kelly,
- 7 A. J. Harwell, Cameron Mueck, Joshua Stubbs, Josh Amescua, Nick
- 8 Burris, Denzel Haynes, Kylen Harrell, Quantel Williams, Tralund
- 9 Webber, and Sam McKinney; and
- 10 WHEREAS, These gifted athletes benefited from the superb work
- 11 of head coach and athletic director Rick Rhoades and assistant
- 12 coaches Tommy Brashear, Guadalupe Florez, Randy Sapp, Brent
- 13 Bennett, James Henderson, Pete Magre, Kevin Webb, Lance Hause, Nick
- 14 Burns, Aaron Thomas, John Broussard, Ryan Olson, and Jayce
- 15 Rasberry; additional assistance was provided by trainer John Marek
- 16 and athletic secretary Wanda White, and the team received helpful
- 17 support from superintendent Collin Clark, assistant superintendent
- 18 Dr. George Willey, high school principal Kenny Driska, and junior
- 19 high principal Missi Giesenschlag; and
- WHEREAS, In becoming one of the select number of teams in
- 21 Texas that have distinguished themselves as state champions, the
- 22 Yoemen have furthered their school's tradition of excellence, and
- 23 this accomplishment is indeed worthy of special recognition; now,
- 24 therefore, be it
- 25 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 26 Legislature hereby congratulate the Cameron Yoe High School
- 27 football team on winning the 2012 UIL 2A Division 1 state

- 1 championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff
- 2 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives.

Farney

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia		Parker
	Guillen	
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
	Keffer	
Capriglione		Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland		
	Marquez	Thompson of Harris Toth
Elkins	Martinez	
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 246
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 246 was	adopted by the House on January
29, 2013, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House