RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Lone Star State lost a passionate activist and 2 esteemed civic leader with the death of Sylvia Rodriguez of San 3 Antonio, who passed away on January 23, 2013, at the age of 71; and

WHEREAS, Sylvia Rodriguez first discovered her enthusiasm 4 5 for politics while working as an administrative assistant for Texas state senator Joe J. Bernal during the 1965 legislative session; 6 soon after leaving the position in 1973, she became actively 7 involved in the Democratic Party, running voter registration 8 9 drives, organizing successful community events, orchestrating political fund-raising campaigns, and helping women candidates get 10 11 elected to office; and

12 WHEREAS, In 1975, Mrs. Rodriguez became a charter member of the Mexican American Democrats of Texas, and by 1978 she was 13 14 appointed to the Democratic National Committee; the first Hispanic woman from San Antonio named to the organization, she later became 15 16 the founder and first chair of the party's Hispanic Caucus; in 1980, President Jimmy Carter invited Mrs. Rodriguez to lead the 17 recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance at the Democratic National 18 Convention; and 19

20 WHEREAS, While she shuttled between commitments in 21 Washington, D.C., and Texas, Mrs. Rodriguez also served as director 22 of the annual San Fernando Health and Safety Fair, where she 23 organized and coordinated hundreds of volunteers to help provide 24 health screenings and medical consultations to thousands of

1

1 uninsured and undocumented people who did not have access to health 2 care; and

H.R. No. 248

3 WHEREAS, A proud member of many local and national community organizations, Mrs. Rodriguez participated in Las Damas de San 4 5 Fernando, the Political Divas of San Antonio, Parent/Child, Inc., the YWCA, the Inman Christian Center, and the Commission for 6 Mexican American Affairs; in addition, she was a founding member 7 8 and treasurer of the Hispanic Women's Network of Texas and she organized the first Hispanas Unidas Conference, which more than 9 10 1,000 women attended; for her tireless efforts working in behalf of women, Hispanic Texans, and Americans, Mrs. Rodriguez was inducted 11 into the San Antonio Women's Hall of Fame in 2011; and 12

13 WHEREAS, Mrs. Rodriguez's faith sustained her and motivated 14 her commitment to community service, and she was a Eucharistic 15 minister and lector at her church; and

16 WHEREAS, This beloved Texan was supported in all of her 17 endeavors by her family, including her husband, Gene, who was her 18 partner in activism and whom she affectionately called "sweet'ert"; 19 the couple enjoyed 45 years of marriage and were blessed with a 20 daughter, Clarissa; and

21 WHEREAS, Sylvia Rodriguez was a national Hispanic political 22 leader, a trailblazing role model for women, and a loving wife, 23 mother, and friend; though she will be deeply missed, her legacy 24 will extend well beyond her passing; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby honor the life of Sylvia Rodriguez and offer sincere condolences to her family: to her husband, Eugene

2

Rodriguez; to her daughter, Clarissa M. Rodriguez; and to her other relatives and many friends, including Dora Dilley, Jeannette and Telesforo Gutierrez, Yolanda and John Johnson, Roger Rodriguez, Nancy Rodriguez and Viviana Enrique, Carol and Larry Medellin, Elizabeth Rodriguez, and Anthony and Hilda Rodriguez; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 9 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Sylvia 10 Rodriguez.

Martinez Fischer

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 248 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on January 29, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House