H.R. No. 249

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Rio Grande Valley Higher Education Day is taking 2 place at the State Capitol on January 30, 2013, and this worthwhile event highlights the important contributions made by The University 3 of Texas-Pan American, The University of Texas at Brownsville, and 4 5 the Regional Academic Health Center in Harlingen operated by The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; and 6 WHEREAS, Located in Edinburg, The University of Texas-Pan 7 American has an enrollment of more than 19,000 students; in recent 8 years, UTPA has ranked second in the nation in the number of 9 bachelor's degrees awarded to Hispanic students and third in the 10 11 number of master's degrees; in addition, it has been rated by 12 Excelencia in Education as one of the top 25 U.S. universities graduating Latinos in the fields of engineering, mathematics and 13 14 statistics, biological and biomedical sciences, and the physical sciences; along with its numerous other accomplishments, the 15 university has built a notable record of achievement in readying 16 students for legal studies through its Law School Preparation 17 18 Institute; and WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Brownsville, which serves 19 20 13,000 students, offers a broad range of educational 21 opportunities and has placed among the top 30 colleges in the nation in graduating Hispanic undergraduates; in carrying out its mission, 22 23 UTB gives special emphasis to service learning and collaboration 24 with leaders in such fields as educational development,

H.R. No. 249

- 1 biomedicine, and astronomy; it is unique among universities in the
- 2 UT System in offering 17 fully online programs, and the quality of
- 3 its online offerings has received national acclaim from U.S. News &
- 4 World Report; UTB is also making a point of reaching out to younger
- 5 learners with its innovative Brownsville Early College High School
- 6 program; and
- WHEREAS, The Regional Academic Health Center in Harlingen is
- 8 a satellite campus of The University of Texas Health Science Center
- 9 at San Antonio; it provides third-year and fourth-year medical
- 10 students with a chance to gain valuable clinical experience as they
- 11 complete their studies; moreover, the center recently added a basic
- 12 research campus and a clinical research facility that will study
- 13 diabetes and other diseases that disproportionally affect
- 14 residents of the South Texas border area; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Indispensable educational resources, these
- 16 respected institutions have helped countless Texans to prepare
- 17 themselves for future success, and they bring myriad benefits to
- 18 the wider community; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby recognize January 30, 2013, as Rio Grande Valley
- 21 Higher Education Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 22 delegation sincere best wishes for a memorable trip to Austin.

Oliveira Canales Gooden Guillen Longoria Lucio III Munoz, Jr.

H.R. No. 249

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu
Giddings Goldman	Murphy Naishtat	Wu Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 249
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 249 was	adopted by the House on January
30, 2013, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House