H.R. No. 250

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Rusk County are assembling at the
- 2 Texas State Capitol to celebrate Rusk County Days on April 2 and 3,
- 3 2013; and
- WHEREAS, A picturesque region of rolling hills in the Piney
- 5 Woods of East Texas, Rusk County was first occupied by the Caddo and
- 6 the Cherokee tribes; the first European settlers arrived in the
- 7 1830s, and on January 16, 1843, the county was formed by act of the
- 8 Congress of the Republic of Texas and named after Thomas Jefferson
- 9 Rusk, secretary of war under Texas President Sam Houston; and
- 10 WHEREAS, For many years, the county's economy was based on
- 11 cotton and other agriculture, but on October 3, 1930, Columbus
- 12 Marion "Dad" Joiner struck oil at his famous Daisy Bradford #3 well,
- 13 opening up the East Texas oil field, which at the time was the
- 14 largest oil field in the world; three years later, Rusk County was
- 15 producing over 200 million barrels of petroleum a year, turning
- 16 county seat Henderson from a sleepy village to a bustling boomtown;
- 17 and
- 18 WHEREAS, Oil and agriculture continue to be mainstays of the
- 19 county's economy, along with natural gas, timber, and the mining of
- 20 lignite coal; in addition, Rusk County's bricks, made from the
- 21 region's unique clay soil, are highly prized; the county economy is
- 22 further bolstered by two correctional institutions, including the
- 23 Bradshaw State Jail in Henderson; and
- WHEREAS, Only two miles from "Dad" Joiner's original well,

H.R. No. 250

- 1 the Gaston Museum in Joinerville commemorates the history of the
- 2 East Texas oil field; in Henderson, the Depot Museum, a beautifully
- 3 restored Missouri Pacific railway depot from 1901, hosts the annual
- 4 Heritage Syrup Festival every November; recreational opportunities
- 5 abound in the county's parks, including Martin Creek Lake State
- 6 Park, which offers swimming, boating, fishing, waterskiing, and
- 7 other activities; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Honoring their heritage as they embrace the
- 9 opportunities of the future, the citizens of Rusk County may take
- 10 great pride in the role their communities have played in the story
- 11 of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby recognize April 2 and 3, 2013, as Rusk County
- 14 Days at the State Capitol and extend to the county's visiting
- 15 citizens a warm welcome and best wishes for an enjoyable stay in
- 16 Austin.

Clardy

## H.R. No. 250

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Munoz, Jr.	White Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 250
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 250 was a	adopted by the House on February
18, 2013, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House