H.R. No. 251

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A superb Lone Star athlete set a new standard of excellence when Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M University was named

3 the winner of the 2012 Heisman Trophy, becoming the first freshman

4 ever to earn that prestigious award; and

approach to the game: "Johnny Football"; and

11

WHEREAS, Mr. Manziel's recognition as the top college player in the nation followed his exceptional debut season as the quarterback of the Aggies; with his gutsy determination and outstanding abilities as a playmaker, he earned the admiration of everyone who witnessed his thrilling gridiron achievements, and he soon became known by the nickname that sums up his no-nonsense

WHEREAS, The son of Paul and Michelle Manziel, Johnathan Paul
Manziel was raised in Kerrville, where he was a standout
quarterback at Tivy High School; he gained national recognition as
a senior and was voted Player of the Year in a national coaches
poll; he received a scholarship from Texas A&M University and won
the starting quarterback job before the start of the 2012 season;
and

WHEREAS, With his pinpoint throws and elusive running,
Mr. Manziel ignited the Aggie offense, and he was especially
effective at darting downfield for long gains, leaving defenders
scattered in his wake; his breakout performance came in his second
game, when he racked up six touchdowns to defeat Southern Methodist
University, and Texas A&M went on to tally a total of 217 points

- 1 while winning its next four contests; and
- 2 WHEREAS, One of the biggest highlights for this phenomenal
- 3 freshman came in the showdown with undefeated and No. 1-ranked
- 4 Alabama on November 10; playing with cool composure in the national
- 5 spotlight, he directed his team to 20 first-quarter points, and the
- 6 Aggies knocked off the Crimson Tide by a score of 29-24; and
- WHEREAS, Over the course of the 2012 campaign, Mr. Manziel
- 8 rewrote the record books; he is the first freshman and only the
- 9 fifth person in NCAA history to compile 3,000 passing yards and
- 10 1,000 rushing yards in a season; in addition, he holds the
- 11 Southeastern Conference game and season records for most total
- 12 yardage, and he set new Texas A&M marks for total yards, rushing
- 13 yards by a quarterback, and passing yards in a single game; and
- 14 WHEREAS, After leading the Aggies to 10 triumphs in the
- 15 regular season, Mr. Manziel took the field alongside his teammates
- 16 for the 77th Cotton Bowl Classic on January 4, 2013; he guided the
- 17 squad to a resounding 41-13 win over Oklahoma, as he established a
- 18 new Cotton Bowl mark for total yardage while scoring four
- 19 touchdowns; Mr. Manziel also set a Football Bowl Subdivision record
- 20 for rushing by a quarterback in a bowl game after gaining 229 yards,
- 21 and he was named the game's Offensive Most Valuable Player;
- 22 moreover, when his bowl-game scores were added to his regular
- 23 season statistics, he set a new Texas A&M record for rushing TDs in
- 24 a season and earned the distinction of being only the fourth FBS
- 25 quarterback to record 20 rushing and 20 passing touchdowns in the
- 26 same year; and
- 27 WHEREAS, In becoming the second Aggie to win the Heisman

H.R. No. 251

- 1 Trophy, Johnny Manziel has joined the most elite fraternity in
- 2 college football, and his accomplishment is a source of great pride
- 3 and excitement to his countless fans in the Lone Star State; now,
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Johnny Manziel on winning the 2012
- 7 Heisman Trophy and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 8 success; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for Mr. Manziel as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Raney	Aycock
Hilderbran	Dukes
Otto	Anderson
Ashby	Bohac
Bonnen of Galveston	Clardy
Crownover	Frank
Herrero	Kacal
King of Zavala	Perry
Workman	Wu

H.R. No. 251

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Munoz, Jr.	White Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 251
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 251 was 6, 2013, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House