RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of the Bryan-College Station area
 are gathering in Austin on February 6, 2013, to celebrate
 Bryan-College Station Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Located among the gentle, rolling hills of the 4 5 Brazos Valley, this part of east-central Texas was encompassed in the land grant that Stephen F. Austin received in 1825; one of 6 7 Austin's nephews, William Joel Bryan, donated land for a town site in 1859, and the new settlement was named in his honor; surrounded 8 by fertile farmlands and served by the railroad from the late 1860s 9 onward, Bryan became an important commercial center and was 10 11 formally incorporated in 1872; and

12 WHEREAS, Just south of Bryan, a defining event occurred in 13 1876 when the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas opened 14 its doors to students for the first time; the community that grew up adjacent to the new school took its name, College Station, from the 15 16 post office that was established there, along the railway, in 1887; home to many faculty members, the town expanded northward through 17 the years, aided in part by an electric railway that linked it to 18 Bryan in the early 1900s, and the community incorporated in 1938; 19 20 growing in conjunction with the university, College Station saw a 21 sixfold increase in its population between 1960 and 2000; and

WHEREAS, Texas A&M is one of the largest public universities mong the United States and ranks among the nation's leaders in academic research; students from around the globe pursue degrees in

1

1 diverse areas of study, and this international presence infuses additional vibrancy into a school already rich in tradition and 2 3 spirit; former A&M students have achieved distinction in many fields of endeavor, and five individuals affiliated with the 4 5 university have earned the Nobel Prize; the university also benefits from the loyal backing of a legion of students, alumni, and 6 other supporters, who know Bryan-College Station affectionately as 7 8 Aggieland; and

9 WHEREAS, The George Bush Presidential Library and Museum on 10 the university campus is the area's leading tourist attraction and has received almost 700,000 visitors since it opened in 1997; as the 11 12 repository of more than 100,000 artifacts, the library and museum document the career and accomplishments of the nation's 41st 13 14 president while promoting civic literacy and fostering 15 volunteerism and an interest in public service; a number of other outstanding museums and galleries are located in Bryan-College 16 17 Station as well, making the area a thriving center for cultural activities; and 18

19 WHEREAS, Excellent shopping and dining locations abound in the two cities, and the many beautiful parks offer residents and 20 visitors opportunities for a range of recreational and leisure 21 pursuits; together, Bryan and College Station afford the amenities 22 23 of a dynamic metropolitan area while also providing the charm and 24 warmth that are typical of small towns, and this combination helps make these adjoining communities a unique, prosperous, 25 and 26 enjoyable part of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas

2

H.R. No. 254
1 Legislature hereby recognize February 6, 2013, as Bryan-College
2 Station Day at the State Capitol and extend to the members of the
3 visiting delegation sincere best wishes for a rewarding visit to
4 Austin.

Raney Kacal

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 254 was adopted by the House on February 6, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House