## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Laredo are gathering in Austin to
celebrate Laredo Day at the State Capitol on January 30, 2013; and

3 WHEREAS, Originally known as San Agustin de Laredo, the city 4 was founded in 1755 as an outpost of the Spanish empire; it later 5 belonged to Mexico, after that country gained independence from 6 Spain in 1821, and served as the capital of the short-lived Republic 7 of the Rio Grande; Laredo became part of Texas in 1846 and was 8 subsequently chosen as the seat of Webb County; and

9 WHEREAS, From its earliest days, Laredo was an important crossing on the Rio Grande and a trading center for livestock, 10 11 hides, and wool; its role in international trade expanded with the 12 arrival of the railroad in 1881 and with the development of the Zona Libre, or free trade zone, along the border between the United 13 14 States and Mexico; its economy was further helped by coal mining, the introduction of onion farming, and the discovery of rich oil and 15 16 gas fields; and

WHEREAS, Today, this bustling gateway city is the largest 17 18 inland port along the Rio Grande and one of the top six U.S. Customs districts in the nation, and its diverse economy benefits from the 19 retail, hospitality, import and export, and petroleum industries; 20 21 the city handles 40 percent of all trade between the United States 22 and Mexico; Laredo is also a focus for higher education in the Rio 23 Grande Valley, as the home to Texas A&M International University, two campuses of Laredo Community College, and an extension campus 24

1

1 of The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; and 2 WHEREAS, Visitors and residents alike may explore such area 3 attractions as the historic San Agustin Cathedral, the Republic of the Rio Grande Museum, and the Laredo Center for the Arts, while 40 4 5 blocks of import vendors along San Bernardo Avenue draw shoppers from near and far; in addition, Laredo is home to Washington's 6 Birthday Celebration, a 116-year-old, month-long event that 7 8 includes a carnival, a colonial pageant, a jalapeno festival, and a parade; and 9

10 WHEREAS, Heirs to a rich history and a vibrant international 11 culture, the citizens of Laredo may indeed take great pride in their 12 city's two and a half centuries of progress and achievement; now, 13 therefore, be it

14 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 15 Legislature hereby recognize January 30, 2013, as Laredo Day at the 16 State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best 17 wishes for a memorable and meaningful visit to Austin.

Raymond

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 255 was adopted by the House on January 30, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House