H.R. No. 256

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Lufkin and Angelina County are
- 2 gathering in Austin on February 7, 2013, to celebrate Lufkin and
- 3 Angelina County Day at the State Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Set among the pine and hardwood forests of East
- 5 Texas, this verdant area was first inhabited by the Caddo and
- 6 Atakapan people; the county is said to be named after a Hainai
- 7 Indian girl who aided Spanish missionaries in the early 1690s; and
- 8 WHEREAS, In 1801, a settler named Vincente Micheli purchased
- 9 5-1/2 leagues of land in the area from the chief of the Bedias
- 10 tribe; Anglo American settlers began to arrive in 1820, and the
- 11 Mexican government issued land grants in the region in the
- 12 mid-1830s; after Texas independence, Angelina County was
- 13 established from part of Nacogdoches County in 1846, and Lufkin was
- 14 made county seat in 1892; and
- WHEREAS, Following the arrival of the railroad in 1882,
- 16 lumber became the foundation of Angelina County's economy; by the
- 17 turn of the 20th century, the nation's need for southern pine
- 18 supported more than 15 lumber companies in the county; today,
- 19 lumber, paper, and the manufacturing of oil-field equipment
- 20 continue to be mainstays of the county's prosperity; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy the region's fine
- 22 recreational opportunities; the Angelina National Forest is a
- 23 favorite for hikers and campers, while the Sam Rayburn Reservoir is
- 24 known for its boating, fishing, and waterskiing; the county's

H.R. No. 256

- 1 forestlands are also a prime habitat for many species of birds,
- 2 drawing birdwatchers from around the state and nation; and
- 3 WHEREAS, As the largest town and the seat of government,
- 4 Lufkin serves as the center of operations for many of the businesses
- 5 in the county, particularly those revolving around the processing
- 6 of lumber and wood products; that industry's development is
- 7 chronicled at the Texas Forestry Museum, and the city includes
- 8 several other notable attractions, including the Museum of East
- 9 Texas, the Ellen Trout Zoo and Park, and the Medford Collection of
- 10 Western Art, which exhibits the work of notable contemporary
- 11 artists; in addition, Lufkin is home to the campus of Angelina
- 12 College; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Its scenic beauty and the industriousness and
- 14 creativity of its people combine to make Angelina County a vital and
- 15 dynamic part of the Lone Star State, and the members of this chamber
- 16 take great pleasure in recognizing this fine county's contribution
- 17 to the heritage of Texas; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby recognize February 7, 2013, as Lufkin and
- 20 Angelina County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 21 delegation best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in
- 22 Austin.

Ashby

H.R. No. 256

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman
Goldman Gonzales	Naishtat Nevarez	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 256
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 256 was 7, 2013, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House