RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Citizens of Jim Wells County are assembling at the 2 State Capitol on February 12, 2013, to celebrate the importance of 3 their home to the history of the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, In a landscape of sweeping grasslands and wide 4 5 horizons, the county's early inhabitants, the Chaguane and Payuguan tribes, enjoyed the region's mild winters and abundant game; after 6 the first European settlement in 1754, at Penitas Creek, Mexican 7 ranchers developed land grants into sheep and cattle ranches; in 8 1848 the region became part of the State of Texas, and it was 9 formally incorporated as a county in 1911 and named after the 10 prominent politician James B. Wells, Jr.; and 11

12 WHEREAS, With the arrival of the railroad in the 1870s, 13 county seat Alice became the most important livestock shipment 14 junction in South Texas, and ranching has remained a mainstay of the county's economy ever since; cotton and sorghum are important 15 crops, as are hay, corn, and wheat; it is a center for health care, 16 with an outstanding medical facility, the CHRISTUS Spohn Hospital 17 Alice, and since the discovery of oil in 1931, it has become one of 18 the state's leaders in oil production; and 19

20 WHEREAS, The Tejano R.O.O.T.S. Hall of Fame in Alice honors 21 Tejano culture and recognizes the region as the birthplace of this 22 popular musical genre; area culture is further showcased at the 23 South Texas Museum, housed in the historic McGill Brothers Building 24 in Alice, and the annual Fiesta Bandana, celebrating Cinco de Mayo,

1

1 is a highlight of the county's cultural calendar; and

2 WHEREAS, The hardworking and forward-looking citizens of Jim 3 Wells County are building on a long tradition of industry, 4 achievements, and public spirit, and they are indeed worthy of 5 special recognition; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2013, as Jim Wells County 8 Day at the State Capitol and extend to its citizens sincere best 9 wishes for a memorable visit to Austin.

Lozano

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 259 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House