RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Superintendents, school board members, and other 2 education professionals from Region One Education Service Center 3 are gathering in Austin on January 31, 2013, to observe Region One 4 Day at the State Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, Region One Education Service Center was created 6 along with 19 other centers by the 59th Texas Legislature to assist 7 school districts across the state; over time, the role of these 8 centers has expanded, and today, they work to further three main 9 objectives: to assist districts in improving student performance, 10 to enable greater efficiency in operation, and to implement the 11 initiatives of the legislature or education commissioner; and

12 WHEREAS, Located in South Texas, Region One covers seven counties: Cameron, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Starr, Webb, Willacy, and 13 14 Zapata, and encompasses 37 districts and several charter school systems; covering nearly 10,000 square miles, the area is home to 15 16 some 350 elementary schools, more than 100 middle, intermediate, and junior high schools, and about 150 high schools; the region has 17 18 a population of approximately 1.5 million, with a student enrollment of 412,000 and a staff of 67,000, including teachers, 19 20 administrators, and other professionals; and

21 WHEREAS, The employees and leaders of Region One Education 22 Service Center have committed themselves to furthering academic 23 achievement, and their work is of great benefit to their 24 communities and to the future of the Lone Star State; now,

1

1 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby recognize January 31, 2013, as Region One Day at the State Capitol and honor the school boards, administrators, faculty, and staff of Region One Education Service Center for their important work.

Canales

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 261 was adopted by the House on January 31, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House