H.R. No. 263

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Education Service Center Region 2 2 community are visiting the State Capitol on January 31, 2013, and 3 this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to take note of this 4 outstanding organization; and

5 WHEREAS, Established in 1967, Education Service Center 6 Region 2 was created by the Texas Legislature and the State Board of 7 Education as part of a statewide network of service centers 8 originally intended to offer media services and teacher training; 9 since then, ESC-2 has expanded its scope to meet the diverse needs 10 of school districts in the Coastal Bend and South Texas areas; the 11 center is based in Corpus Christi; and

12 WHEREAS, ESC-2 assists the districts within its borders in a professional 13 including variety of areas, development, 14 certification, cooperative purchasing, telecommunications, and computer services; the center is responsible for more than 85 15 16 specific programs, including those that implement state initiatives, provide finance training, and help secure grants; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Dedicated to promoting educational excellence, 19 ESC-2 is helping students to reach their full potential and to 20 become engaged and productive members of their communities; now, 21 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas Legislature hereby recognize January 31, 2013, as Region 2 Day at the State Capitol and honor the school boards, administrators,

1

H.R. No. 263 1 faculty, and staff of Education Service Center Region 2 for their 2 important work.

Herrero

H.R. No. 263

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 263

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 263 was adopted by the House on January 31, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House