H.R. No. 268

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The March of Dimes Foundation is celebrating its
- 2 75th anniversary during 2013; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Established by President Franklin D. Roosevelt in
- 4 1938, the original purpose of the March of Dimes was to fight polio,
- 5 and it helped fund the development of two vaccines in the 1950s to
- 6 safeguard individuals against the disease; following those
- 7 successes, the organization shifted its focus to the prevention of
- 8 birth defects in 1958; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In the decades since, the March of Dimes has been a
- 10 pioneer in the field, making groundbreaking advances in maternal
- 11 and child health; the group's research has led to the discovery of
- 12 lifesaving products and techniques such as surfactant therapy for
- 13 premature infants and tests to identify birth defects; and
- 14 WHEREAS, A longtime advocate for improved access to health
- 15 care for women, children, and families, the March of Dimes has
- 16 collaborated with elected officials in national and state
- 17 government to realize progress in this area; in 2003, the group
- 18 authored the Prematurity Research Expansion and Education for
- 19 Mothers Who Deliver Infants Early (PREEMIE) Act, which became law
- 20 in 2006; two years later, Congress passed the Newborn Screening
- 21 Saves Lives Act, and the March of Dimes worked to ensure that every
- 22 state in the nation implemented the screening procedures detailed
- 23 in the legislation; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The March of Dimes sponsors numerous programs in

H.R. No. 268

- 1 Texas to support healthy pregnancies and infants; focusing on
- 2 community engagement and information sharing, these worthy
- 3 endeavors range from providing assistance to families with newborn
- 4 children in intensive care units to funding scholarships for
- 5 individuals pursuing careers in perinatal health care; and
- 6 WHEREAS, For three quarters of a century, the March of Dimes
- 7 and its dedicated volunteers have carried out important efforts to
- 8 improve the health of individuals throughout the United States, and
- 9 this admirable organization is sure to remain a positive force in
- 10 the years ahead; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby honor the March of Dimes Foundation on its 75th
- 13 anniversary and extend to the Texas chapter of the organization
- 14 sincere best wishes for continued success.

Crownover

H.R. No. 268

| Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings | M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy | Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman |
|--|---|---|
| Giddings Goldman | Murphy Naishtat | Wu Zedler |
| Gonzales | Nevarez | Zerwas |

| | H.R. No. 268 |
|---|----------------------------------|
| | Speaker of the House |
| I certify that H.R. No. 268 was 13, 2013, by a non-record vote. | adopted by the House on February |
| | Chief Clerk of the House |