H.R. No. 295

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Aggies and Longhorns are uniting today at the State
- 2 Capitol to celebrate Orange and Maroon Legislative Day 2013 and to
- 3 promote higher education in the State of Texas; and
- WHEREAS, Alumni from the two schools total more than 800,000,
- 5 and Texas A&M University and The University of Texas at Austin have
- 6 a combined annual enrollment of more than 100,000 students, with
- 7 over 23,000 students receiving degrees each year; the schools boast
- 8 superb museums and libraries, including the George Bush
- 9 Presidential Library and Museum and the LBJ Presidential Library,
- 10 and both universities are renowned for their exceptional research;
- 11 and
- 12 WHEREAS, The teaching and research missions of Texas A&M
- 13 University and The University of Texas at Austin benefit the State
- 14 of Texas and drive economic prosperity through scientific
- 15 breakthroughs, technological innovation, entrepreneurial spirit,
- 16 improved health care, and the creation of successive generations of
- 17 informed and engaged citizens; and
- WHEREAS, Texas A&M and UT Austin researchers explore,
- 19 discover, and innovate in the sciences, arts, and humanities and
- 20 combined have more than 1,100 patents; in the 2012 fiscal year
- 21 alone, the institutions' research expenditures totaled over \$1.2
- 22 billion; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Both universities serve as important cultural
- 24 centers, engaging Texans in the visual and performing arts and

H.R. No. 295

- 1 other creative endeavors, and they promote athletics and physical
- 2 education, inspiring Texans to stay active and bringing them
- 3 together in support of student-athletes; and
- WHEREAS, The universities' faculties feature Nobel laureates
- 5 and nationally recognized scholars, and the student bodies include
- 6 National Merit scholars, Olympic gold medalists, and many of the
- 7 Lone Star State's most promising young people; in addition, the
- 8 schools offer an amazing range of postgraduate opportunities with
- 9 nearly 470 graduate degree programs; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Texas A&M University and The University of Texas at
- 11 Austin have established themselves as preeminent institutions of
- 12 higher education on the state, national, and international levels,
- 13 and Texans are fortunate to have access to these two exceptional
- 14 state university systems; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 16 Legislature hereby recognize February 5, 2013, as Orange and Maroon
- 17 Legislative Day and commend alumni from Texas A&M University and
- 18 The University of Texas at Austin for their commitment to promoting
- 19 higher education in the Lone Star State.

Naishtat Raney Kacal

H.R. No. 295

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter		
	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
_	Miles	Villalba
Farrar	Miller of Comal	
Fletcher		Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 295
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 295 was	adopted by the House on February
5, 2013, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House