H.R. No. 296

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Forestry Association is sponsoring a
- 2 seedling giveaway at the State Capitol on March 6, 2013; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This initiative promotes public awareness of
- 4 forestry and the importance of the state's timber resources while
- 5 furthering the extensive tree-planting efforts that take place
- 6 throughout the state; each year, family forest owners and the
- 7 forest industry plant 100 million seedlings in order to maintain
- 8 sustainable forests for future generations of Texans; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Covering 12 million acres, the forest sector in East
- 10 Texas generates more than 117,000 jobs, \$5.9 billion in annual
- 11 labor income, and a total economic impact of more than \$23.7
- 12 billion, making timber a valuable agricultural commodity
- 13 statewide; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Founded in 1914 by a group of dedicated
- 15 conservationists, the Texas Forestry Association is a nonprofit
- 16 organization of landowners, businesses, and industry professionals
- 17 united by the common goal of advancing forestry, promoting
- 18 conservation practices, and enhancing and perpetuating the state's
- 19 timber resources; TFA offers programs such as the Sustainable
- 20 Forestry Initiative and Tree Farm, which are designed to educate
- 21 the public and to facilitate the growth of renewable forest
- 22 resources, with the understanding that the best management
- 23 practices are essential for productive forests; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The Texas Forestry Association has tirelessly

H.R. No. 296

- 1 striven to ensure that abundant forests remain a dependable
- 2 resource for the citizens of Texas; under the able leadership of
- 3 current president Bill Kuhn, and with the participation of its
- 4 3,000 dedicated members, the TFA will continue to contribute to the
- 5 economic vitality and beauty of the Lone Star State; now,
- 6 therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby recognize the Texas Forestry Association on the
- 9 occasion of its seedling giveaway and extend to the association
- 10 sincere best wishes for continued success with its reforestation
- 11 efforts and advocacy; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the TFA as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 14 House of Representatives.

Ashby

H.R. No. 296

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank	M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody	Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo Geren	Morrison Munoz, Jr.	White Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

				Η.	.R.	No.	296
\$	Spea	ker	of	the	Но	use	
adopted	by.	the	Нοι	ıse	on	Marc	h 6,
		-	-	-	Speaker of the	Speaker of the Ho	H.R. No. Speaker of the House adopted by the House on Marc

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 296

2013, by a non-record vote.