H.R. No. 297

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network,
- 2 the advocacy affiliate of the American Cancer Society, and its
- 3 dedicated volunteers have worked tirelessly toward the goal of
- 4 reducing the occurrence of cancer in our state by advocating for
- 5 laws and policies that will make cancer a top priority; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Cancer is the second-leading cause of death in the
- 7 United States and will claim the lives of 580,000 Americans this
- 8 year alone; the annual costs of cancer exceed \$200 billion
- 9 nationwide; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Investment in cancer research has paid impressive
- 11 dividends, reducing the death rate and saving thousands of lives;
- 12 and
- WHEREAS, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network
- 14 volunteers across Texas are engaged in numerous activities to
- 15 support the fight against cancer and assist those living with the
- 16 disease; more than 300 Relay for Life events across the state engage
- 17 local communities in working to raise awareness of public policy
- 18 issues important to the fight against cancer; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby commend the American Cancer Society Cancer
- 21 Action Network and its devoted volunteers for their exceptional
- 22 work in fighting this deadly disease and extend to them best wishes
- 23 for continued success in their efforts; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

H.R. No. 297

- 1 prepared for the network as an expression of high regard by the
- 2 Texas House of Representatives.

Zerwas

H.R. No. 297

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia		Parker
	Guillen	
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy	King of Parker	Rose
Coleman	King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier	King of Zavala	Schaefer
Cook	Kleinschmidt	Sheets
Cortez	Klick	Sheffield of Bell
Craddick	Kolkhorst	Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland		
	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas
		> - · · · · ·

	H.R. No. 297
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H P No 295	was adopted by the House on February
6, 2013, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the house on rebruary
	Chief Clerk of the House