RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) will
- 2 celebrate its past accomplishments, showcase its present
- 3 strengths, and look forward to its future development throughout
- 4 2014 as it observes its centennial; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Established in 1914 with the support of local
- 6 residents and business owners, UTEP began as the Texas State School
- 7 of Mines and Metallurgy, a small mining school on the site of the
- 8 former El Paso Military Institute; in 1916, a fire destroyed the Old
- 9 Main building, and the school moved to its current location; at the
- 10 request of the wife of Dean S. H. Worrell, the new campus was
- 11 constructed to resemble fortresses in the Himalayan kingdom of
- 12 Bhutan, and it retains this distinctive style of architecture to
- 13 this day; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The university became the first branch in The
- 15 University of Texas System in 1919 and gradually began to encompass
- 16 additional areas of study; to better identify its status as a
- 17 regional university with an increasing number of liberal arts
- 18 programs, it was renamed Texas Western College in 1949; six years
- 19 later, it became the first public university in the state to
- 20 desegregate its undergraduate program; and
- 21 WHEREAS, A strong focus on athletics in the 1960s led to the
- 22 construction of the Sun Bowl stadium, home to the UTEP Miners
- 23 football team as well as the annual Sun Bowl game, and numerous
- 24 national championship wins in the decades that followed; perhaps

- 1 the most famous of these came in 1966, when the men's basketball
- 2 team faced the heavily favored Kentucky Wildcats; Coach Don Haskins
- 3 started an all-African American lineup, the first time any school
- 4 had done so in the finals, and the Miners went on to an upset 72-65
- 5 win; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Now looking to its 100th year, UTEP has seven
- 7 academic colleges and an enrollment of more than 22,600 students;
- 8 it is a nationally recognized research institution with
- 9 expenditures of nearly \$70 million annually to support a broad
- 10 array of studies in such areas as drug development, Hispanic health
- 11 disparities, nanotechnology, and space exploration; the Texas
- 12 Higher Education Coordinating Board has named it one of the state's
- 13 emerging Tier One universities, and it was designated as a minority
- 14 research center of excellence by the National Science Foundation
- 15 and as a doctoral/research intensive institution by the Carnegie
- 16 Foundation; and
- WHEREAS, In addition, UTEP boasts a number of acclaimed
- 18 programs designed to equip students with the tools necessary to
- 19 succeed professionally; 90 percent of the graduates of its Law
- 20 School Preparation Institute are accepted to law school, a figure
- 21 well above the national average, and its Medical Professions
- 22 Institute has helped make it one of the top universities for Mexican
- 23 American graduates accepted to medical school; moreover, its
- 24 Executive MBA program attracts professionals from both sides of the
- 25 U.S.-Mexico border; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Over the course of an eventful century, The
- 27 University of Texas at El Paso has enriched the lives of countless

- 1 students while making impressive strides in research and academic
- 2 innovation, and in so doing, it has made a positive impact on the
- 3 Lone Star State and the world beyond; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby honor The University of Texas at El Paso for its
- 6 10 decades of outstanding service and extend to the university's
- 7 administration, faculty, staff, students, and alumni sincere best
- 8 wishes for a successful and memorable centennial celebration; and,
- 9 be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for The University of Texas at El Paso as an expression of
- 12 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Marquez Perry Frullo

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 307 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House